Bearded Devil and Ice Devil weapons and associated special ability


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I'm curious, if I had some beareded devils or ice devils in an encounter and they had a weapon other than the one in the stat block, would they still get the respective special abilities associated with those weapons? The text of their special abilities (wounding and slow) say the ability is part of the devil itself, not of the weapon.


The abilities are part of the devil (so killing the devil and taking it's glaive/spear doesn't give you the infernal wound/slow ability), but the abilities in both cases specify the type of weapon that they apply to. So, while the devils don't need to use a specific glaive or spear for the abilities to function, they won't work with other types of weapons (except for the ice devil's slow, which also works with its tail attack).

If the abilities instead said something like "with any weapon it wields", or "with any xx weapon it wields" (like a balor demon's vorpal strike applying to all slashing weapons), then they would have applied even to non-glaives and non-spears.


RAW, no, but it wouldn't break anything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bearded Devil and Ice Devil weapons and associated special ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions