Question on which base stats to use for Form of the Dragon


Rules Questions


This question could easily be broadened to other shape changing spells, but in this particular case my group was curious about what happens with the Form of the Dragon Spell.

There is a sorcerer lycanthrope who spends most of their time outside of cities in hybrid form. This brings about increased physical stats. When she casts Form of the Dragon in this hybrid form, does the +2 bonus to Strength go off her human form stats or her hybrid form stats?


I'm not certain if it's listed as such, but I would definitely say that changing shape via lycanthropy is a polymorph effect. Since Form of the Dragon is also a polymorph effect, the two would not stack and neither would their bonuses. If a Lycanthrope in hybrid form cast Form of the Dragon, he would have to decide which of the two forms to retain, retaining only the bonuses from that form.


MechE_ wrote:
I'm not certain if it's listed as such, but I would definitely say that changing shape via lycanthropy is a polymorph effect. Since Form of the Dragon is also a polymorph effect, the two would not stack and neither would their bonuses. If a Lycanthrope in hybrid form cast Form of the Dragon, he would have to decide which of the two forms to retain, retaining only the bonuses from that form.

That was what my intuition was telling me, that it would be off the base stats. The explanation was however beyond me - thanks for the concept of tying it to polymorph!

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
wxcougar wrote:

This question could easily be broadened to other shape changing spells, but in this particular case my group was curious about what happens with the Form of the Dragon Spell.

There is a sorcerer lycanthrope who spends most of their time outside of cities in hybrid form. This brings about increased physical stats. When she casts Form of the Dragon in this hybrid form, does the +2 bonus to Strength go off her human form stats or her hybrid form stats?

It goes from your base stats, since the hybrid form is effectively a polymorph effect that is not active when you're assuming Form of the Dragon. Polymorph effects do not stack.


Thank you for the responses. I'm still newish to things, so its helpful to see where concepts are tied together.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on which base stats to use for Form of the Dragon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions