Multiple Touch Attacks in a round?


Rules Questions


When you cast a spell with a touch attack, you can hold the charge until you decide to attack. I have two hands. If I spend the 1st round of combat casting Shocking Grasp, and hold the charge, during round 2 can I cast it again and hold that charge until round 3, and then make both attacks ala TWF (I guess it would be THF, in this case).


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Short answer: No

Somewhat longer answer:

Holding the Charge wrote:
If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

(bolding mine)


alrighty.

Sczarni

But, if you're using a spell that allows multiple touches, yes, you can "two-weapon fight" with touch attacks, taking all the appropriate penalties.

If you have iterative attacks, you could do it that way as well.


Nefreet wrote:

But, if you're using a spell that allows multiple touches, yes, you can "two-weapon fight" with touch attacks, taking all the appropriate penalties.

If you have iterative attacks, you could do it that way as well.

I was just about to ask that, actually. I just took a loser look at Chill Touch and it does say you are allowed multiple targets. Hm.

Sczarni

Frostbite is the popular one.


oooh that too.

Grand Lodge

Also, for a Magus-type, if you miss with the regular attacks during one round, you could attack with your held spell, hit, then use Spell Combat to cast another to attack with with your second attack. You have to announce Spell Combat, though, before your first attack and take the appropriate penalties...


kinevon wrote:
Also, for a Magus-type, if you miss with the regular attacks during one round, you could attack with your held spell, hit, then use Spell Combat to cast another to attack with with your second attack. You have to announce Spell Combat, though, before your first attack and take the appropriate penalties...

thats incorrect. when using spell combat, you can only cast the spell before any of your attacks or after all of them, not in between them.

so lets say after 1 round you have one remaining charge from your spell. the next round, you can spell combat, attack first and use up that last charge, then make all remaining attacks, THEN cast a new spell.

also, im confused as to what you mean with the bolded part in the above quite. did you mean to say that if you still have a held charge, you could make a free touch attack at the beginning of your next turn and then make your normal attacks? if so, thats also completely incorrect. if you meant that you can deliver remaining charges with normal attacks the next round, then yes. thats true.

Lantern Lodge

Shimesen, I believe what he does is:

Make all attacks with BaB
Spell combat cast a touch spell
which allows a melee touch attack as a free action
which is turned into an attack by spellstrike

Lantern Lodge

Which a legal thing to do


yes, thats legal, but the way he worded it made it seem like we was describing something entirely different.

Grand Lodge

Make your attacks: normal attacks, taking the spell combat penalty, with spellstrike, your regular weapon attacks would still be able to deliver the held charge.

No free attack from the held charge, but, if you hit on your first attack, at level 2, you then cast another Shocking Grasp (e.g.), then get the free touch attack, also at the spell combat penalty, with your weapon.

You only get that free touch attack/spellstrike weapon attack on the round you cast the touch range spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Multiple Touch Attacks in a round? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions