Monk of the Empty Hand - Unarmed.


Rules Questions


The Ki Weapons feature of the Monk of the Empty Hand sates this:

"At 5th level, a monk of the empty hand may spend 1 point from his ki pool as a swift action to deal damage equal to his unarmed strike damage with an improvised weapon for 1 round. At 11th level, the monk may spend ki to grant an enhancement bonus or magical weapon abilities to an improvised weapon for 1 round, at the rate of 1 point of ki per +1 bonus or its equivalent. The monk may not spend more than 3 points of ki at one time for this purpose. For example, a monk can spend 2 points of ki to give his improvised weapon a +1 enhancement bonus and the ki focus quality, or just the flaming burst quality. At 15th level, the limit increases to 5 ki per round. The monk may use this ability to add magical weapon qualities to improvised weapons that could not normally have such a quality, such as adding the disruption quality to a slashing weapon, or the vorpal quality to a bludgeoning weapon."

My question is: Can I apply the enhancement bonus to my unarmed strikes, rather than an improvised weapon?

I want to truly have empty hands.

(I'm playing a level 12 monk with the vow of poverty, so I have ki out the butt to spend.)

Also, I'm not sure if this was addressed anywhere else; my searched turned up nothing related to this question.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I don't think by RAW you can wield your own unarmed strike as an improvised weapon, but I see no harm in your DM letting you add enhancement to your unarmed strikes with a MotEH's ki pool as a house rule. Remember how such things stack if you happen to also have an AoMF or such like.


I don't think I'll have to worry about AoMF; I have a vow of poverty, so I can't use magical items. I just think it's weird that it's called Monk of the EMPTY hand, but its benefits are for use with weapons (even if they are improvised). I really have no desire to use any weapons of any kind.

But thanks, I'll chat with my DM. I would totally be willing to lose the weapon and armor proficiency all together in exchange for applying Ki Weapon to my unarmed strikes.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

IIRC, the Vow of Poverty let you have ONE magic item. I may be mis-remembering an old version though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk of the Empty Hand - Unarmed. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.