Arcanists and Pearls of Power


Rules Questions


My Arcanist just picked up Craft Wondrous Items and I was looking to make some pearls of power, but I'm not quite sure if and/or how they would interact with the Arcanist. Can Arcanists use pearls of power to regain spent spells?

ACG play test wrote:

An arcanist casts arcane spells drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list, presented in Chapter 10 of the Core Rulebook. An arcanist must prepare her spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, her spells are not expended when they’re cast. Instead, she can cast any spell that she has prepared, assuming she hasn’t yet used up her spells per day for that level.

(...)

An arcanist may know any number of spells, but the number she can prepare each day is limited.

(...)

Unlike the number of spells she can cast per day, the number of spells an arcanist can prepare each day is not affected by her Intelligence score. Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster affect the number of spells the arcanist can prepare.

An arcanist must choose and prepare her spells ahead of time by getting 8 hours of sleep and spending 1 hour studying her spellbook. While studying, the arcanist decides what spells to prepare.

Pearl of Power, UE wrote:
This seemingly normal pearl of average size and luster is a potent aid to all spellcasters who prepare spells. Once per day on command, a pearl of power enables the possessor to recall any one spell that she had prepared and then cast that day. The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast.

Grand Lodge

No. Pearls of Power replenish prepared spells which have been used up and lost. The Arcanist however does not lose prepared spells. If he's looking to replenish used spell slots, you've got to use the Runestones Sorcerers use.

The Exchange

LazarX,

I see your point on pearls of power. But runestones only work for spontaneous casters.

Once per day, a spontaneous caster can draw upon a runestone of power to cast a spell—doing so is part of the spellcasting action, and expends that runestone’s power for the day rather than one of the spellcaster’s actual spell slots for the day.

And Arcanists are not spontaneous casters in the strictest sense.

An arcanist must prepare her spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, her spells are not expended when they’re cast. Instead, she can cast any spell that she has prepared, assuming she hasn’t yet used up her spells per day for that level.

By this logic they could use neither. Is this right or am I missing info on the class?

Cheers

Grand Lodge

brian schneider wrote:

LazarX,

I see your point on pearls of power. But runestones only work for spontaneous casters.

Once per day, a spontaneous caster can draw upon a runestone of power to cast a spell—doing so is part of the spellcasting action, and expends that runestone’s power for the day rather than one of the spellcaster’s actual spell slots for the day.

And Arcanists are not spontaneous casters in the strictest sense.

An arcanist must prepare her spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, her spells are not expended when they’re cast. Instead, she can cast any spell that she has prepared, assuming she hasn’t yet used up her spells per day for that level.

By this logic they could use neither. Is this right or am I missing info on the class?

Cheers

We're all missing info because the final version isn't out yet. Runestones regenerate slots. which is what the Arcanist expends, just like a sorcerer. So runestones would work, while pearls are just fashion accessories. But if you want to interpret it your way as a Judge or GM, currently... more power to you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanists and Pearls of Power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions