Couple of questions.


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


First can players only play cards to help you if they are in the same location (unless stated in the skill or card description). I have watched demo games where players are helping playing blessing cards etc while their character is at a different location.
And second can players help by playing multiple cards for example a blessing plus an item then a weapon. The rules state you can only play one card of each type but i read it as one card only.
Thanks for your time.


1. Depending on the card, you can help from other locations. Blessings being a primary example. Anyone at any location can add a blessing. Other examples are some ranged weapons allow you to assist a combat check at another location. Harsk's power also allows him to assist someone at another location. In other cases, powers and cards specify it only works at the same location. In the end, each card or character power will specify where it can help.

2. Yes, you can use multiple cards, as long as they are not the same type. An example would be Harsk assisting someone's combat check at another location. He can...
A. Play a blessing.
B. Discard a ranged weapon that allows him to assist a combat an another location.
C. Recharge any card to add a 1d4 for his power. (He can even recharge a weapon. This doesn't count as playing two weapon cards, since he is using his character power, not the card being recharged.)

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
DevonOnline wrote:

First can players only play cards to help you if they are in the same location (unless stated in the skill or card description). I have watched demo games where players are helping playing blessing cards etc while their character is at a different location.

It's the opposite, really. If a card doesn't specify you can only use it on someone at your location (e.g. Grizzled Mercenary) or something similar, you can use on any player, no matter where they are.

Quote:
And second can players help by playing multiple cards for example a blessing plus an item then a weapon. The rules state you can only play one card of each type but i read it as one card only.

Each player can play a card of each type at each step of the encounter.


3Doubloons wrote:
DevonOnline wrote:

First can players only play cards to help you if they are in the same location (unless stated in the skill or card description). I have watched demo games where players are helping playing blessing cards etc while their character is at a different location.

It's the opposite, really. If a card doesn't specify you can only use it on someone at your location (e.g. Grizzled Mercenary) or something similar, you can use on any player, no matter where they are.

Quote:
And second can players help by playing multiple cards for example a blessing plus an item then a weapon. The rules state you can only play one card of each type but i read it as one card only.
Each player can play a card of each type at each step of the encounter.

Right, but remember the important distinction between "a check" and "YOUR check". Cards that say "your check" cannot be played on someone else's check.


I really should have added some examples.
Say Valeros is in combat and plays a long sword +1d8 can Amiri play another long sword as well from another location adding another d8 for a + 2d8 total.
Another example.
Lem encounters something he can not defeat can Ezren play sleep to help Lem evade.


A few quick posts jumped in there while i was typing.
So example one would be a no but Ezren could save poor Lem with sleep.
Brings me back to the earlier question would Ezren need to be at the same location?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
DevonOnline wrote:

I really should have added some examples.

Say Valeros is in combat and plays a long sword +1d8 can Amiri play another long sword as well from another location adding another d8 for a + 2d8 total.

No, because the Longsword can only be used for your check, so Amiri can only use it for herself. If it had been a Light Crossbow instead, she could use its second power to give Valeros 1d4 even if he played a weapon himself

Quote:

Another example.

Lem encounters something he can not defeat can Ezren play sleep to help Lem evade.

No. No one can evade your encounter for you. If it had been Kyra casting Sanctuary, it would be fine since Sanctuary would make Lem evade his own encounter

Just to be clear, they would be allowed to play these cards if they had powers applicable to the situation. Only your choice of examples makes it not possible


Ah ok that clears things up.


Also, the Longsword defines the skill for your check. You can only play one of those kinds of cards for each check. So one character can't play a Longsword and an attack spell like Force Missile because both those cards define the skill you are using for your check. Read the attempting a check section very closely.


After reading the FAQ i cant see why Ezren Cant play sleep to aid another character. The FAQ says "When you encounter a card, you—and only you—can go through the following steps. No one else can perform these steps for you, though other players might be able to play cards to help you deal with the encounter’s challenges. During each of these steps, you and the other players may perform only the specified actions. Players may only play cards or activate powers that relate to each step."
The sleep spell says "Discard this card to evade a monster whose highest difficulty is 10 or lower".
The word your or turn does not appear.


DevonOnline wrote:

After reading the FAQ i cant see why Ezren Cant play sleep to aid another character. The FAQ says "When you encounter a card, you—and only you—can go through the following steps. No one else can perform these steps for you, though other players might be able to play cards to help you deal with the encounter’s challenges. During each of these steps, you and the other players may perform only the specified actions. Players may only play cards or activate powers that relate to each step."

The sleep spell says "Discard this card to evade a monster whose highest difficulty is 10 or lower".
The word your or turn does not appear.

It's because evading resolves the encounter, and no one else can resolve your encounter for you. Look at the wording on Sanctuary and notice the difference. That spell says "Choose another character at your location to evade a monster". You can never succeed at a check, evade an encounter, defeat a bane, or acquire a boon for someone else.


Because the card is speaking to the character whose turn it is. So they have to do the actions instructed in the text. So it is saying "Ezren, discard this card to evade a monster."

Sanctuary is an example of a spell that can let someone else evade a monster.

Sanctuary wrote:
Discard this card to choose a character at your location to evade a monster...

So the person holding sanctuary is being told by the card to choose someone, not to evade something. (Though you can choose yourself since you are a character at your location.)

Rulebook v3 p22 wrote:

No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it. No other character can evade it, defeat it, acquire it, close it, decide what to do with it, or fail at doing any of those things. If Sajan encounters a monster, Merisiel can’t evade it for him. If Kyra encounters a Ghoul, Seoni can’t attempt the check to defeat it. If Amiri encounters a Battered Chest, Lini cannot use Thieves’ Tools against it. If Valeros encounters a Spyglass, Harsk can’t attempt the check to acquire it. If Ezren defeats a henchman at the Sandpoint Cathedral, Seelah can’t discard a blessing to close the location. If the

game tells you to do something, you have to do it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Couple of questions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion