MForey
|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
The Admixture Evoker school from the APG contains some language that I would like to have clarified.
Elemental Manipulation (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura that transforms magical energy. Choose an energy type from acid, cold, electricity, and fire, and a second type to transform it into. Any magical source of energy of this type with a caster level equal to or less than your wizard level is altered to the chosen energy type. This includes supernatural effects from creatures with Hit Dice no greater than your caster level. For example, you could transform a white dragon’s frigid breath weapon (a supernatural ability), but not a fire elemental’s fiery touch (an extraordinary ability). If an effect lies only partially within your aura, only the portions within the aura are transformed. You can use this ability for a number of rounds per day equal to your wizard level. The rounds do not need to be consecutive.
As written, the ability seems to talk about wizard level and caster level as if the two were equivalent, which they are not. It is entirely possible through use of PRCs, feats, and/or traits to elevate your wizard caster level above your wizard HD, creating the following hypothetical scenario:
Bob is an Admixture Evoker, Wizard 10/Loremaster 2. His caster level for the wizard class, therefore, is 12. Using the ability, read and interpreted as written, he sets up a fire to cold aura. His ally's flaming weapon (CL10) is affected, as is the breath weapon of the attacking young red dragon (11HD). A second ally, who has a flaming burst weapon (CL12), is entirely unaffected.
The spirit of the rules would usually seem to demand that, because Bob multiclassed, he should limit himself to his wizard HD for determining what he can influence with this ability. Would this be the proper way to interpret the ability, or is it actually meant to scale with caster level?