
Aesatchien |

Our group hasn't been able to come to a conclusion on this debate. Our Cleric has the Luck domain, so he can in theory re-roll anything and take the 2nd roll. The sorcerer also made a Fortunate Charm to get re-rolls on crafting wondrous items. However, is it permissible to do this in all occasions? Specifically, our DM has an issue with using it on week-long endeavors like Handle Animal or Spellcraft checks on Craft Wondrous Item. Good Fortune is similar to the Fortunate Charm in that respect, since one lets you re-roll any d20 and the other any skill or concentration check. RAW it seems we can use it on anything, so our DM is willing to allow it. (Note - we're not trying to stack them, just seeing if there is some rule that prevents us from using these abilities/items on crafting.)
Good Fortune (Ex): At 6th level, as an immediate action, you can reroll any one d20 roll you have just made before the results of the roll are revealed. You must take the result of the reroll, even if it's worse than the original roll. You can use this ability once per day at 6th level, and one additional time per day for every six cleric levels beyond 6th.
Charm, Fortunate
Aura faint evocation; CL 5th
Slot neck; Price 3,000 gp; Weight -
DESCRIPTION
Once per day, this good luck charm allows the wearer to reroll a single skill check or concentration check after the success or failure of the original roll is known. The result of the reroll must be kept, even if it is worse than the original roll. The charm may not be used on a skill check that’s already been rerolled by some other means.
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS
Craft Wondrous Item, divine favor; Cost 1,500 gp.

Aesatchien |

If the check you're making is for an activity that takes longer than a day, I'd simply have you spend one use of it every day until you're ready to make the check.
That's a decent compromise, especially if crafting on the road.
Sometimes when RAW allows something it seems a bit broad so in cases like this I suppose it has to come down to a houserule to prohibit it. I know there are several re-roll threads but I can't find any clarity on stuff like this. It would be nice to know if this had a common solution or developer guideline somewhere.
Drakkiel |

I really don't understand abilities like these...what's the bonus of being able to reroll something when your first roll might be better?
You have to decide to use it before the results are known so of I roll my d20...declare I want to use my ability...first d20 was a 20...my second is roll hits 5...I basically just screwed myself right? Or is there something I'm not understanding
The fortunate charm I get...but the other one just seems like a waste

BobtheSamurai |

It's a reroll before the results, not before the roll itself. So if you roll a 5, and you don't think that's high enough to make the roll, you spend your reroll for a shot at success.
Note that a 1 on an attack roll or save is always a failure, so no rerolls allowed since you already know the results.