Upgrading items (Rods)


Pathfinder Society

Liberty's Edge 2/5 *

Quick question here. (Im asking it here because I would need the PFS version of the ruling)

I understand the rules for upgrading weapons and armor.

I have a character with a lesser version of a metamagic rod. Can I 'upgrade' this item to a metamagic rod (ie the midpoint version) if I have the fame and coin? Or does this fall into the 'cannot upgrade named items?' category?

5/5 5/55/55/5

I don't believe so, since a lesser metamagic rod squickening is technically a different named item than a metamagic rod squickening.

Shadow Lodge 3/5

Pretty sure you can't, but it would be nice if you could.

4/5 ****

PFS FAQ wrote:

Can I Upgrade a Named Magic Item?

Named magic items—including specific armor and specific weapons—are not upgradeable. Non-magic specific armor and specific weapons may be upgraded normally. Magic armor and weapons may be upgraded to named versions if they are the same basic material and shape as, and meet but do not exceed the enhancement bonuses of the named versions. Wondrous items whose names include a +X value (such as bracers of armor, headband of vast intelligence, amulet of might fists, etc.) may also be upgraded following the rules for upgrading magical items on page 19 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play.

Unfortunately rods are not formatted as +x items. (They also aren't wondrous or weapons or armor)

Liberty's Edge 2/5 *

Thankyou for the replies. I think I already knew the answer but wanted to hear a different one :)

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Upgrading items (Rods) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.