reach weapon vs. reach around a corner


Rules Questions


it is possible to use a reach weapon or reach to strike a target around a corner?

P = player with reach weapon or reach
M = Monster
C = Wall

Like this (A):

XXXM
XPCC
XXCC

Or this (B):

XXM
XPC
XXC

I think A is possible with a reach weapon and B with 10ft reach. Is it correct?

Grand Lodge

With both of those instances I'd say yes. You can draw a line from one corner of the player's square to one corner of the Monster's square without it going through the corner square.

If in example A the PC was down one more it would be a no. If it were a Whip, then it would be a yes, but only if you could some how see them around the corner, but I'd give them a big cover bonus.

Liberty's Edge

Reach weapons use the missile rules for cover.

PRD wrote:


Cover

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target's square goes through a wall (including a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target that isn't adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.

...

Total Cover: If you don't have line of effect to your target (that is, you cannot draw any line from your square to your target's square without crossing a solid barrier), he is considered to have total cover from you. You can't make an attack against a target that has total cover.

Example (A)

You can race a line from your left high corner to the target left high corner and he is 10' away, so you can attack with him befitting from cover as you can't trace a line to his right low corner.

Example (B)
You can't attack if you have a reach weapon and the target is 5' away.
It you have a non reach weapon or you have natural reach you can attack but the target would benefit from cover.


No. Cover.


No, Money down!


A = yes see example number 2 on page 194. of the core rule book it explains how the orger with reach can strike Merisiel. But in your example since the monster is a step back it would have cover. +4 to ac

B= no because you can't strike the 5ft adjacent square next to you with a reach weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / reach weapon vs. reach around a corner All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions