Run action clarification ?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello,

When you take the "run" action, how long does the AC loss last? until the end of your movement or until your next round? Thanks


Usually when something lasts until the next round it will say that in the text.

And due to the nature of why you lose your dex (full-out running in a straight line) it makes sense that you would regain your dex bonus to AC once you have stopped.


I would have assumed that the penalty lingered because you had run, like with a charge, but I can't find anything to contradict BuzzardB.

Interestingly, if you are running without the Run feat you lose Dex so you lose the Mobility feat bonus.

Designer

While (aggravatingly) the text of both the run action and the Run feat do not say, you lose your Dex bonus until the start of your next turn.

Typically when you do things for a full round it means that you are doing it between the span of time between one initiative count to the same initiative count in the next round (Core Rulebook 178). This is definitely the case for running, since it has rules that explain what happen if you do it for multiple consecutive rounds.

In other words, you are running for the full round, though you apply the movement on your turn for simplicity. Since you are running for the full round, you take the penalty for the full round.

I hope that helps.


Stephen Radney-MacFarland wrote:
Typically when you do things for a full round it means that you are doing it between the span of time between one initiative count to the same initiative count in the next round (Core Rulebook 178). This is definitely the case for running, since it has rules that explain what happen if you do it for multiple consecutive rounds.

I think there maybe a relevant distinction between things that take a full round and a full-round action.

pfsrd wrote:
When the rules refer to a "full round", they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

Designer

Carnox wrote:
Stephen Radney-MacFarland wrote:
Typically when you do things for a full round it means that you are doing it between the span of time between one initiative count to the same initiative count in the next round (Core Rulebook 178). This is definitely the case for running, since it has rules that explain what happen if you do it for multiple consecutive rounds.

I think there maybe a relevant distinction between things that take a full round and a full-round action.

pfsrd wrote:
When the rules refer to a "full round", they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on.

At times, maybe, just not in this case.

Liberty's Edge

Seeing some people interpretation, it is worth an errata, don't you think?

Designer

Diego Rossi wrote:
Seeing some people interpretation, it is worth an errata, don't you think?

That's not really the criteria we use when deciding what is errata or what is FAQ. If it was, we would be chasing all sorts of rabbits down all sorts of holes.

That being said, I'm all for clarifying the text here a bit, but we have a process that involves the whole design team, and I'm sure it will come up.


Thank you very much.

Designer

You are welcome. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Run action clarification ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions