Improved Eldrtitch Heritage (Arcane): New Arcana, Self-Referential Class Abilities assumption, and Bloodline Arcana ruling


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

OK, I've seen this rules combo keep popping up on the boards, and it seems like there should be a definitive ruling:

The concept is taking Improved Eldritch Heritage: Arcane to gain the New Arcana ability:

Quote:
New Arcana (Ex): At 9th level, you can add any one spell from the sorcerer/wizard spell list to your list of spells known. This spell must be of a level that you are capable of casting. You can also add one additional spell at 13th level and 17th level

So many people are reading that as allowing non-Sorceror spontaneous casters to add these Sorceror/Wizard spells to thee list of spells known FOR THEIR CLASS, or basically to also add it to their class' spell list and allow them to cast said spells using their non-Sorceror spell slots. On the other hand, the rules don't really explicitly spell out all those details when they grant Sorcerors some normally non-Sorceror spells via Bloodline.

As I understand it, Class Abilities are always written assuming they are self-referential to the class unless otherwise stated.
New Arcana does not change any spell lists when you take it as a Sorceror, and it doesn't do anything different when taken via IEH.
A multiclass Arcane Sorceror/Summoner/Oracle that gains New Arcana "normally" can not use non-Sorceror spell slots with the IEH spells, AFAIK.
So neither should anybody who takes IEH via Feat.

Some people seem to feel that it is justified to work for their character because they paid a Feat for it. Of course, not all Feats are usable for all characters: this Feat is also possible to take with non-Caster characters, so if it also just doesn't happen to work for non-Sorceror characters, then no fundamental crime has been committed.

The caveat to that is the basic assumption that Class Abilities by default are talking about their own class.
That's all well and good, but there is also a FAQ ruling that Bloodline Arcana applies to ANY and ALL spells you cast,
whether from the Sorceror class or not... That ruling seems to violate said assumption, or at least weaken it in some way.
So how far does that assumption go? Is the Bloodline Arcana ruling in fact more intended as "stealth errata" to achieve that functionality,
i.e. is not directly derivable from the RAW in combination with the Self-Referential assumption?
(and thus has no bearing on the meaning or scope of the Self-Referential assumption, since the "stealth errata" is presumably imparting the beyond-same-class scope, even if the FAQ doesn't spell that out currently)

If the Self-Referential assumption is not as iron-clad, does that change anything about how IEH functions with New Arcana?

If IEH(Arcane):New Arcana IS meant to allow casting those spells with non-Sorceror slots, does that also allow Arcane Sorceror multiclass builds to cast those spells with their non-Sorceror slots? (which is normally a Mystic Theurge ability dependent on levels in that PrC)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Improved Eldrtitch Heritage (Arcane): New Arcana, Self-Referential Class Abilities assumption, and Bloodline Arcana ruling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions