| AtticusRex0 |
Hey guys, enjoying this game massively but just had a quick question regarding Blessings of the Gods and number of plays. From what I've determined, Blessings has the three powers discard to add a die, discard to explore, or treat as identical copy of discarded blessing in discard pile.
My scenario that I'm a bit murky on is this:
Player a explores a location and encounters a monster. They use blessing of the gods to add a die to their roll, engage and defeat the monster. They then use another blessing to explore again.
I would say this cant happen because of the card of only one type rule but I just wanted it clarified with you guys. Also there are no separate instance of turns correct? Meaning in your entire turn, even if you explore again, you can only use one card of each type. Example: I fight a monster and use a spell to defeat it. I explore again using a blessing, my use of spells doesn't reset and I cannot use a spell in this fight because it used it in the last one. Sorry for the writing, doing this by phone. Thanks for the help.
| Markon |
Also, maybe I'm just not understanding you correctly, but you do understand that, for example, in a game with several players, and one player REALLY needs to make a check (maybe for one of the barriers that come out of nowhere and does a ton of damage, I've had some bad luck with those), multiple players could ALL use one blessing per player, to make sure that the player passes that check. And then if the same character explores again, those same players could use another blessing on a different check, even though it's all the same turn.
Vic Wertz
Chief Technical Officer
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Technically, it's:
Each player may play no more than 1 card of each type during each step of encountering a card.
Attempting a check is just one of those steps.
Also:
Each player may play no more than one of each card type to affect damage to the same character from the same source.
(It's important to note that separately from the previous rule, because it applies when someone takes damage outside of an encounter.)
| h4ppy |
...but when damage occurs within an encounter then the previous rule applies.
Oh and a step is not to be confused with an action... e.g. "before the encounter" is a step but "attempt the roll" is an action within the "attempting a check" step.
Like I said on another thread - simple rules get long-winded surprisingly quickly! It's a (fairly) easy game to understand and play once you get the hang of it (especially compared to some other CCG/LCGs) but there are some key concepts which are much easier to 'do' than to explain clearly and concisely.
TClifford
|
TClifford wrote:The golden rule is: 1 card type and/or ability per PC per CHECK.TClifford wrote:After that you can play anything you want up to the golden rule: One card type and/or ability per PC per check.While that is a rule, it certainly isn't the golden rule.
It is the golden rule in my book because it seems to be the single biggest confusing thing for people just learning the game.