closing locations and extra explores


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


So I had a question come up tonight - Ezren defeated a henchman at the academy and then *somehow* failed the closing roll. However he had an ally in hand that granted him an extra explore and wanted to continue.

I wasn't sure.

I know the closing phase for once a location deck is empty is a separate phase after the exploration phase, but I'm somewhat unclear whether the closing roll related to defeating a henchman jumps you to that same later phase in the round or whether it's still part of that explore. The way the henchman card allows you to close the location now makes it seem to me like it's still part of the explore and if that closing roll is failed, someone who has the ability to explore again should be able to do so.

If that is true then in a situation where a close after defeating a henchman revealed the villain after banishing the other cards, then I would assume that if that hero had an extra explore they could continue and encounter the villain in that same turn as well.

Anyway hoping for some clarification.

Thanks :)


Ezren can totally explore again after failing the check to close the location granted to him by defeating the henchman. It is still his turn. There is no rule that his turn must end at that point.

And you could also play a card to explore again if after closing a location you discover the villain is in the location and wanted to encounter him on that turn.

You also get two chances to close a location if the last card in the location is the henchman and you defeat him. You take the immediate attempt granted by defeating the henchman first, then if you fail you notice the location is empty of cards and since it is still your turn you may attempt to close that location now that you have removed the last card from the location.

Here is the turn sequence from the updated rulebook page 8.

  • Advance the blessings deck.
  • Give a card to another character at the same location (optional).
  • Move to another location (optional).
  • Explore the top card of the location deck (optional).
    ---You encountering a card. It is a henchman. Jump to the sequence about encountering a card.
    ---During the encounter you have to make check. Go to the sequence about attempting a check.
    ---You won! Back to encountering a card now. Oh, look it says if defeated I may immediately attempt to close the location. Let me do that. Drat I failed.
    ---Well there are still cards here, I'm to discard this ally to explore again.
  • Try to close a location if it doesn’t have any cards (optional).
  • Reset your hand by discarding any cards if you like, then discarding down to or drawing up to your hand size.
  • End your turn.

So during that encounter with a henchman, you never left the explore part of the turn, so it is fine to keep exploring if you can.


Nice, thanks for the confirm. It *seemed* like it worked that way but I realized that it would allow stuff like what you're saying with the possible double close attempts (especially with Ezren in the Academy that seems easily possible that after failing the henchman close he could empty some remaining spell cards and get to the no cards remaining close on the same turn) so just wanted to make sure.

Another thing that came up in that same game was a situation where 2 people were in a location that needed to be temporarily closed - the wording in the rule book is something like "each player in any open location" may attempt to temp close it, so we ruled that player #1 could try and if he failed there was nothing stopping player #2 from making that same roll. Pretty sure that's right as well but figured I'd make sure while I'm thinking about it.


Correct. Each character may make an attempt. So if more than 3 characters is at the Academy when Valeros encounters the Villain at the Village House, each of the 3 at the Academy may make an attempt to close it. Only 1 of them needs to succeed.

Updated Rulebook Page 17 wrote:
When a player encounters the villain, each player at any other location may immediately attempt to fulfill the When Closing requirement for his location. If any player at a location succeeds, his location is temporarily closed and the villain cannot escape there this turn.

If it was meant that only 1 of the three in our example could attempt it, it would say "one player at any other location may immediately..." But it says "each" player. Then it says "If any player at a location succeeds..." Again implying that there can be more than one player attempting it at a single location.


Not that you're looking for this, but I like to think of encountering the henchmen and villains in terms of RP:

Henchman:
After defeating henchman..."This place is hereby declared off limits by yours truly. You want to challenge this, first have a look at this dead low-life/sinister trap at the end of my sword / melting in a pool before me/in pieces at my feet, and consider the risks." Charisma check (bluff, intimidate, &/or diplomacy) now occurs to convince others (allies or baddies) to leave and take their crap with them. On success they leave <location closed>, on failure you must continue to wade through the unimpressed locals to clear the place out.

Villan:
On defeating villain..."GAAH, DIE YOU BASTARD!!!"; everyone else is auto-intimidated and leaves, taking their crap, for fear that your battle rage will engulf them. If there are open locations, the villain slinks away taking all the crap with him/her to help with recovery from the beating she/he has just endured.

In both cases:
On failing, everyone continues going about the business they were about before you arrived, while you hang your head in defeat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / closing locations and extra explores All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion