Imbue With Spell Ability - How does it work?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Specifically as an oracle. Let's say I cast it on a level 1 commoner, and grant them the use of Cure Light Wounds. Now, I obviously can't use that level 4 spell slot until the commoner uses the spell, but would I also be transferring a 1st-level spell slot to them, and be unable to use it? The ability to cast Cure Light Wounds at all? That's the part that's got me confused.

If anyone could shed some light on this issue, I'd much appreciate it.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Since an oracle does not prepare spells, I would say that this spell does not work at all for an oracle (and thus should never become one of his spells known). The text of this spell specifically references prepared spells.

Dark Archive

Regardless, oracles have it. So how would it work?


Imo it holds one lvl 4 and one lvl 1 cast per day /shrug, I got nothing that is RAW.

Dark Archive

Why would it hold onto the level 1 slot? Clerics regain theirs as normal even if the target doesn't use it...

It only says that the level 4 spell is taken up.


If that's how you think it works, then why come here asking?

Is there a particular part of the spell that's confusing? Can you quote it here?

Dark Archive

Sure. For example, do you lose the spell (as a spell known) that you're passing on, as an oracle?

Do you only lose the spell slot?

Do you lose both?

I think I understand how it works, but mostly want to confirm if it works that way.


Why would you lose more than one slot? That's the part that's not evident to me.

Grand Lodge

It only expends the first level spell, it does not prevent you from preparing new spells in the first level slot the next day.You may not prepare a new spell in the fourth level spell slot until the spell-like ability has been used. I don't believe the spell works for oracles though because it says that only cleric spells can be transferred, and it only allows the transfer of prepared spells(which oracles do not have). Were it to work for oracles it would only take one of their fourth level spells slots until the spell like ability has been used and the oracle has rested 8 hours/regained his expended spell slots.

Dark Archive

Makes sense to me, thanks.

And they are cleric spells... just they're also oracle spells ;-) Heh

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Imbue With Spell Ability - How does it work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions