
Paul Murray |

I have a halfling archaeologist/bard, with a leather fedora and a whip. His name is Zack Jackson.
http://paizo.com/people/ZackJackson/profile
Zack Jackson is proficient with a whip (bard).
Zack Jackson has Agile Maneuvers.
Zack Jackson does not have Weapon Finesse.
If he performs a combat maneuver *with his whip* - does that mean that he has to use Str rather than Dex? (If so, I'll grab Finesse Rogue at 4th level. Why 4th? Cause at 3rd level I will be getting Lingering Song.)
I have seen it mentioned that a weapon with the 'trip' property can be used to perform a drag or reposition. Can someone refer me to a source for this rule that is official WRT to PFS play? I couldn't see it in the APG - maybe I'm blind.
Can an ally willingly fail their CMD to be dragged or repositioned? If they willingly fail, how much to they fail by? It's relevant to the question of how far you can drag them.
Can a whip be used to perform certain dirty tricks? The rules are vague, and pretty open to interpretation. Blinded, sickened, entangled - all very reasonable to do with a whip. Is it basically a matter of finding an amenable DM? If so, then what's the PFS ruling - is there an official source?

awp832 |

I think with Agile Maneuvers you can use your DEX even if you are using a weapon to make the combat maneuver.
Not sure about drag/reposition and trip weapons.
Allys can't be the targets of Combat Maneuvers as far as I am aware.
Preforming a dirty trick with a whip does not grant you any special benefit, I will put it that way.

Paul Murray |

Ok, I found the relevant post re trip/drag:
http://paizo.com/paizo/blog/v5748dyo5lcom?Combat-Maneuvers-and-Weapon-Speci al-Features
Also contains this interesting snippet:
Of course, the GM is free to rule that in certain circumstances, a creature can apply weapon bonuses for these maneuvers, such as when using a sap in a dirty trick maneuver to hit an opponent in a sensitive spot.
A sap does not have the 'dirty trick" special, so it seem s dirty trick with a weapon is "whatever is reasonable". Using a whip to give a target the blinded, entangled, or sickened condition for one round seems reasonable to me. Oh - and cracking the whip right by the ear could reasonably deafen for one round.
Sigh. We probably need a proper rules ruling.