| Xorran |
What happens if an opponent is bull rushed during his movement?
Here's my scenario, I have a character with Impact Critical Shot, and Improved Snap Shot (and the prerequisite feats) if I make an Attack of Opportunity against someone 15 feet away from me as they are moving out of my threatened square toward me, and confirm a critical hit against them, and bull rush them 10 feet away from me, placing them 25 feet away from me after the bull rush. Do they get to continue their movement toward me? Or are they stopped in their tracks, if they get to continue their movement, is the 10 feet I moved them subtracted from their movement? Are they required to use a second move action to continue moving toward me? Possibly provoking another Attack of Opportunity (With Combat Reflexes obviously) from me again? Or is that considered the exact same movement, even though I pushed them 10 feet out of my threatened area, and they are now required to move into and out of my threatened squares again in order to get to me.
Just wondering if anyone was really familiar with what is supposed to happen in this sort of scenario.
| Mojorat |
This may be a great area but here goes.wHen you do an API you don't interior the opponents turn unless you do something that actually prevents the opponents action.
So that said I think if you bulrushes someone as attn API and pushed them back fifteen feet their move would resume from there. Its different from a trip which would make the original Acton no longer possible.
| Quandary |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
My question would be: is the Bullrush distance subtracted from the remaining movement for the move action (or Charge or whatever) that was interrupted by the AoO/Readied Bullrush? That's how I do it for involuntary (or voluntary) "environment triggered movement", e.g. falling off a 10' cliff in the middle of a Move Action, so I don't see why a Bullrush would work differently. Honestly, both the Bullrush-during-Movement and 10'Fall-during-Movement could use a FAQ entry, that's just not 100% clear by RAW.
FYI, it doesn't matter if they use a 2nd move action or not, you can only provoke 1 AoO per round per opponent for moving out of a threatened square. Being part of the same "action" or not has no bearing.
" Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent"
| Quandary |
:-)
A 'voluntary' scenario of external movement 'interrupting' a move action would be something like:
Character chooses to move past edge of cliff/wall, "falls", then wants to move further (they landed standing up).
Does that falling distance NOT count against their remaining movement?
Even though if they chose to "Jump" that distance (for exact same effect), it WOULD reduce their movement?
I don't see how whether the "interrupt" is voluntary or involuntary changes that much.
Possibly relevant is WHEN falling or similar movement actually occurs: immediately when you are not supported,
or at the end of your turn (or just before your next turn) if you are not supported?
Movement occuring outside of the action itself, that isn't an "interrupt", would not raise the same issue.