Wand of Force Missile used on Goblin Warchanter


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hi all, Love playing this game.
Had a question that came up in one of my scenarios a few days ago. I was Seoni and faced a Goblin Warchanter. I failed the wisdom check and could not use a spell with attack or weapon per the Warchanter's card text. Seoni, however, had Wand of Force Missile in hand. Since the Wand is not a weapon or a spell with attack trait I used it and defeated the Goblin. However, I noticed that the Wand does have the Attack trait. So, did I play this right? Was I able to use the Wand on the Warchanter after failing the check? Reminder Goblin Warchanter says you must succeed at wisdom 8 check or you cannot use spells with attack trait or weapons. Wand of Force Missile is an item.


Yes, you played it right. Unless the Wand says "This counts as playing a spell" (i.e. like Seoni's power) or "This counts as playing a weapon" it is legitimate to use. You used an item with the attack trait. Which is not prohibited. If they wanted to prohibit such a thing they would ahve included items or they would have said more generically, "You may not play any cards or use any powers with the attack trait." So you are fine.

I hope the Wand paid off for you and defeated the Goblin Warchanter.


I concur with Hawk. Whether it was a simple oversight in the wording that allowed you to get away with it or not, according to the wording the wand is perfectly legal to play here. In fact, that's a great situation to use the wand, since the check to defeat the warchanter isn't too high.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Wand of Force Missile used on Goblin Warchanter All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion