
![]() |
Is this a legal spell for an oracle to take as a spell known? I know oracles draw their spells from the cleric spell list, and burdt of radiance is a cleric spell, but it's one of a very few cleric spells that an "alternate source" does not list as cleric/oracle.
I'm hoping it is because my life oracle has the blackened curse and the only way she is able to contribute to the party when heals aren't needed is via blasty type spells and buffs. This, the burning hands her curse gave her and spear of purity are a nice start. Any other spells in the level 1-3 range I'm missing?

![]() |

Is this a legal spell for an oracle to take as a spell known? I know oracles draw their spells from the cleric spell list, and burdt of radiance is a cleric spell, but it's one of a very few cleric spells that an "alternate source" does not list as cleric/oracle.
How fan-made sites choose to display content has no impact on how the rules work. Occasionally they'll even paraphrase, rewrite, or create their own text from scratch and claim that Paizo published it (or rather, one contributor will do so and maybe nobody catches it), so I advise against referencing unofficial sites for rules questions.
Anyway, the rules for the oracle state that oracles get access to the cleric spell list, and burst of radiance is on said list, so you're all set. (And it's a great spell, too.)
I'm hoping it is because my life oracle has the blackened curse and the only way she is able to contribute to the party when heals aren't needed is via blasty type spells and buffs. This, the burning hands her curse gave her and spear of purity are a nice start. Any other spells in the level 1-3 range I'm missing?
Blindness/deafness is really solid, as is murderous command.

Grey Sage |

Quick question:
As written, the burst of light spell says:
'This spell fills the area with a brilliant flash of shimmering light. Creatures in the area are blinded for 1d4 rounds, or dazzled for 1d4 rounds if they succeed at a Reflex save. Evil creatures in the area of the burst take 1d4 points of damage per caster level (max 5d4), whether they succeed at the Reflex save or not.'
The question is this... Would a sightless or blind EVIL creature be totally immune to this spell or would it be immune only to the blinding/dazzling effects that is allowed a Reflex save?
My thought is this, the 'light' descriptor applies to the blinding and dazzling effects and allows a Reflex save; a blind or sightless target would not need to make the Reflex save.
The 'good' descriptor applies to evil (specifically) and even if the creature cannot see the burst, is still affected.
Please weigh in on this.

Remy Balster |

Quick question:
As written, the burst of light spell says:
'This spell fills the area with a brilliant flash of shimmering light. Creatures in the area are blinded for 1d4 rounds, or dazzled for 1d4 rounds if they succeed at a Reflex save. Evil creatures in the area of the burst take 1d4 points of damage per caster level (max 5d4), whether they succeed at the Reflex save or not.'
The question is this... Would a sightless or blind EVIL creature be totally immune to this spell or would it be immune only to the blinding/dazzling effects that is allowed a Reflex save?
My thought is this, the 'light' descriptor applies to the blinding and dazzling effects and allows a Reflex save; a blind or sightless target would not need to make the Reflex save.
The 'good' descriptor applies to evil (specifically) and even if the creature cannot see the burst, is still affected.
Please weigh in on this.
Yep. The save is vs blind.
The alignment check is for damage.
Two seperate effects with one spell.
Being immune to one of them doesn't mean being immune to the other, per se.