FrodoOf9Fingers
|
Ok, thought of this recently and thought of it as a 'in' to create a TWF magus.
Spell strike would NOT work with this, so don't worry about that aspect, just think about SPELL COMBAT (A lot of people get the two confused).
Spell Combat (Ex): At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks.
Wand Wielder (Su): The magus can activate a wand or staff in place of casting a spell when using spell combat.
When you cast this spell on a weapon, you cause a portion of the weapon to open like the skin of a partially peeled apple, revealing a space large enough to insert a single wand within. As part of the spell’s casting, you can insert a single wand into the weapon, at which point the weapon returns to its original form with the wand held inside of it without negatively impacting the weapon’s integrity. For the spell’s duration, a character who wields the transmuted weapon is also considered to be wielding the wand as well. You can attack normally with the weapon or use the weapon as if it were the encased wand. If the effect created by the wand requires an attack roll to successfully strike a foe, you may make the attack roll as if you were making an attack with the weapon at its highest bonus (including any bonuses the weapon would normally receive) rather than just a normal attack with the wand—doing so does not allow you to add the weapon’s damage to the wand’s attack roll, but instead allows you to use your skill with the weapon to boost your chance of hitting with the spell.
At the end of the spell’s duration, the encased wand is ejected from the weapon. If you have a free hand, you may catch the weapon as a free action; otherwise, the wand drops to the ground. If the weapon housing the wand is broken or destroyed during the duration of weaponwand, the encased wand is similarly broken or destroyed.
Ok, so my main question is this: If my off hand weapon had wand wielder casted on it, and I had a wand inside of that weapon, would I be able to:
A. Cast a spell as part of a full attack with my main hand weapon, even though my off hand is occupied with a weapon/wand? (If it was just a wand, I believe the RAI is that it's ok [hence wand wielder], just having a wand inside of a weapon confuses the topic)
B. Cast a spell as part of a full attack with both my weapons using TWF (And it's improved feats)?
| Bad Mojo |
A. sounds plausible, you'd just be using the off hand as a wand and not attacking with it which seems to fall in line with the rules.
B. Weapon Wand specifically states that the weapon can be used as a weapon or as a wand, not both. This would seem to preclude using it as a wand then making TWF attacks with it. Even if the spell requires an attack roll you are limited to a single attack at your highest bonus but do no actual weapon damage.
FrodoOf9Fingers
|
B. Weapon Wand specifically states that the weapon can be used as a weapon or as a wand, not both. This would seem to preclude using it as a wand then making TWF attacks with it. Even if the spell requires an attack roll you are limited to a single attack at your highest bonus but do no actual weapon damage.
Is that an inclusive or exclusive 'or' though? I read it like a list of things you can do with it. Such as listing what duct tape is good for (Ex. you can make wallets, badges, or even bombs out of duct tape).
That sentence also might because of the concept that it is very rare to be able to attack and cast a spell from a wand.
But if it doesn't work, I'll just find some other way to make the TWF Magus workable.
| Xaratherus |
Assuming that I'm reading correctly, your intent is to have a weapon in each hand and attack with both, possibly with a wand inside one (or both of the weapons), at the same time you're using Spell Combat?
If that's correct, I think the answer would be no. Spell Combat calls out that it requires an open hand, even if the spell you're casting requires no somatic components, so the intent appears obvious that you're sacrificing the option for off-hand attacks for the ability to cast a spell. Wand Wielder allows you to activate a wand or rod, but it doesn't indicate that it's freeing up that hand to use a weapon.
Just a final point, in order to utilize TWF you need to be making a full attack action. Although the designers have since changed their stance and stated that Spell Combat can benefit from the extra attacks granted by Haste, it's still a special full-round action that is not a full attack action.