Enlarge Person Wand from Domain - Who can use?


Rules Questions


A cleric creates a "Wand of Enlarge Person" using her spell from her Strength Domain.

My party picks it up. Can anyone use it without UMD? The party is:

Cleric - Doesn't have that spell because he doesn't have that domain
Sorcerer - It's a divine spell, not arcane
Fighter - Nope
Ranger - Nope


Clerics with the Strength domain, I guess.


It's a Wand of Enlarge Person. Period. Wands aren't really specific about class or even arcane/divine boundaries.

Pathfinder Core Rulebook, Magic Items, Spell Trigger Iterms wrote:
Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell.

So the sorcerer can use this wand because his class is capable of casting Enlarge Person (the fact that the creator used divine magic to create the wand doesn't come into question for spell trigger items). The cleric could only use it if he had class features giving him access to the spell; otherwise his class cannot cast Enlarge Person so he cannot use it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Enlarge Person Wand from Domain - Who can use? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.