Mask of the Mantis; Command Word or Use Activated


Rules Questions


Is the Mask of the Mantis; Command Word or Use Activated?

Command Word: If no activation method is suggested either in the magic item description or by the nature of the item, assume that a command word is needed to activate it. Command word activation means that a character speaks the word and the item activates. No other special knowledge is needed.

Use Activated: This type of item simply has to be used in order to activate it. A character has to drink a potion, swing a sword, interpose a shield to deflect a blow in combat, look through a lens, sprinkle dust, wear a ring, or don a hat. Use activation is generally straightforward and self-explanatory.

I'm currently running CotCT and my entire party is now wanting to wear these. My questions other then stated above;

Does the Fighter in my group have to make a UMD (use blindly)DC 25 check to activate the mask?

Can someone show, or teach the fighter how to activate the mask, so they don't have to make this check, if it is needed?


This is the link for the mask of the mantis magical item:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/wondrous-items/wondrous-items/m-p/mask- of-the-mantis


It would be a standard action Command Word. If the command word is known (usually the case) no UMD is required. Just say the word and it works.


Command word. Reason: No activation mechanism is specified, and no other straightforward and obvious activation method presents itself.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mask of the Mantis; Command Word or Use Activated All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.