Combat Maneuvering


Rules Questions


Can a two weapon fighter choose to use his secondary weapon for combat maneuvers? A player of mine wants to attack / combat maneuver / attack -5 / combat maneuver -5

Grand Lodge

Disarm, Trip, or Sunder is possible.

Sczarni

The 3 Combat Maneuvers that BBT mentioned may be performed "in place of" a melee attack, and would work for your player.

He/She could even use the first attack to trip, second attack to disarm, third attack to sunder, and then use the fourth attack to damage the poor prone/disarmed/naked opponent.

Grand Lodge

Is there a particular combat maneuver they are interested in focusing on?


Trip trip and more trip

Sczarni

He may wish to trip with his first attack, using his highest to-hit bonus, because if he succeeds then all of his remaining attacks would be against a prone AC.

Shadow Lodge

The difference here is that, when you look at the rulebook, some maneuvers are described as using "a standard action" and others are "in place of a melee attack", ie. an attack action.

When you normally attack with a weapon, and let's say you have 3 attacks, that's 3 attack actions you can use with a full round action. Or, 3 combat maneuvers you can make where the text for that maneuver says "in place of a melee attack".

If it's a standard action, like grapple, it's not really an attack at all - invalidating your regular 3 attacks that you could otherwise have used. You'd only be able to use it once, because you only get one standard action in a round.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Combat Maneuvering All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.