Large creature through medium entranceway?


Rules Questions


Can a large creature squeeze through a normal door in a dungeon? The heights of the rooms are not an issue. Both rooms are large enough on either side. From what I read on squeezing it seems that a creature that is 10x10 can squeeze through a 5x10 space.

The 10x10 creature became frightened and must flee (if possible). I'm trying to determine what would happen in this scenario.

Help!


According to Pathfinder rules, YOU (the human reading this) are a 5'x5' creature. Can YOU "squeeze" through a small door (2.5' x 2.5')?

Answer: Yes. Well, almost certainly yes, though a few humans are, in fact, too large for such a door, but those humans are not typical athletic adventuring types.

Likewise, a large creature can fit through a medium door, unless the large creature is extremely inflexible (made of rock or metal without flexible/foldable limbs) - in short, if it's a creature/monster, it's certainly flexible enough unless it has some text in its description saying it cannot.

You've read the squeezing rules. What part isn't clear?

Core Rulebook, Combat, Terrain and Obstacles wrote:
Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares

Easy enough. The creature must flee. It has, let's say, a 30' movement rate. It moves, for example, 10' then gets to an open medium doorway. It must "squeeze" through, so moving through counts double, therefore it uses another 10' to "squeeze" through the door. That leaves it 10' more for moving after the door, totaling 30' of movement to cover 25' of distance. Of course, it will use its other action this round to move another 30'. It could not sprint (x4 move) because that requires a straight line without difficult terrain, and squeezing through a doorway would prevent moving this fast this round.


Almost right, DM Blake...as far as I can tell, running doesn't require a straight line.

Grand Lodge

You can't run while squeezing. best you can do at that point is a double move.


Manimal wrote:
Almost right, DM Blake...as far as I can tell, running doesn't require a straight line.

The Run action to move 4x speed does:

Quote:

Run:

You can run as a full-round action. If you do, you do not also get a 5-foot step. When you run, you can move up to four times your speed in a straight line (or three times your speed if you're in heavy armor). You lose any Dexterity bonus to AC unless you have the Run feat

Of course, the "Withdraw" or double-move action is still conceptually "running" or "fleeing" enough for this purpose.


Page 193 on Squeezing has the answer.

You can squeeze through or into a space that is at least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and while squeezed in a narrow space, you take a -4 penalty on attack rolls and a -4 penalty to AC.


Bizbag wrote:
Manimal wrote:
Almost right, DM Blake...as far as I can tell, running doesn't require a straight line.

The Run action to move 4x speed does:

Quote:

Run:

You can run as a full-round action. If you do, you do not also get a 5-foot step. When you run, you can move up to four times your speed in a straight line (or three times your speed if you're in heavy armor). You lose any Dexterity bonus to AC unless you have the Run feat
Of course, the "Withdraw" or double-move action is still conceptually "running" or "fleeing" enough for this purpose.

Huh, would you look at that. :P Well, I can admit when I'm wrong...however, I'm not entirely to blame, as later on, in a later section of the Combat chapter, running is mentioned without reference to straight lines at all:

Quote:

Underneath "Movement in Combat":

If you spend the entire round running, you can move quadruple your speed (or three times your speed in heavy armor). If you do something that requires a full round, you can only take a 5-foot step.

In this case, I'd go with the definition that does include the bit about straight lines.

In which case, go with the withdraw action, which doesn't require a straight line (I'm pretty sure?).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Large creature through medium entranceway? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.