| Lovecraft1 |
Quick question: does the eidolon's reach evolution work with manufactured weapons?
My group's summoner has made an eidolon capable of wielding a martial weapon via the martial weapon proficiency feat. If the eidolon wields a martial weapon (without reach), can he extend that weapon's reach by using this evolution?
Also, does the evolution count as if though the weapon has reach (making it impossible to strike into adjacent squares) or does the evolution work like the reach of large monsters?
| Eridan |
RAW is unclear but there is a FAQ that helps a little.
Summoner: If I choose the reach evolution for my eidolon, how many of its attacks gains increased reach?The ability description says "pick one attack," not "pick one attack type." So if your eidolon has two claws and you pick "claw" for the reach evolution, only one claw gets increased reach. (The reach evolution is intended to let you emulate having a dragon-eidolon, as a dragon's bite attack has greater reach than its claws.)
—Pathfinder Design Team, 04/26/13
An eidolon using manufactured weapons normally has a lot of arms. For every arm it needs the 'reach' evolution (see FAQ). Six arms = six evo points. Did your summoner know that ?
In my opinion the 'reach' evo should only work for natural attacks but that is not supported by RAW. Even an attack with a manufactured weapon is an 'attack'.
Reach (Ex): One of an eidolon's attacks is capable of striking at foes at a distance. Pick one attack. The eidolon's reach with that attack increases by 5 feet.
So from the RAW side i would say that the natural reach with one attack/limb is increased by +5ft with this evolution.
Time for a GM call.
| Archaeik |
Evolutions are grouped by their cost in evolution points. Evolution points cannot be saved. All of the points must be spent whenever the summoner gains a level. Unless otherwise noted, each evolution can only be selected once.
Unfortunately, Reach does not have this descriptor and can be taken only once. (unless there's some info I haven't seen)
The evolution doesn't prevent you from attacking adjacent, it's just an extra 5ft on that attack.
I agree that the evolution was geared toward putting it on a natural attack, but putting it on 1 arm(as claw or unarmed strike) seems within the rules, and should give reach to weapons wielded in that arm.