Creature with Spellcasting, Advancing as a Spellcaster


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Its probably somewhere really obvious in black and white, but I want to confirm that my interpretation of how creatures who already possess counts-as spellcasting advance if they take spellcasting classes.

Nymphs function as 7th level druids for spellcasting. Dragons count as sorcerers for whatever caster level they have.

So if a Nymph advances into druid, does she function as an 8th level druid for spellcasting? Or does she have more first level druid spells (and now first level druid abilities/skills she'd otherwise lack?).

Does a dragon sorcerer get to add on additional spells and castings at a lower level (that don't overlap with his already known low level spells?)

I think mechanically it might work in the 'seperate pools' way, but that seems kind of odd at the same time.


Bestiary p297 wrote:
If the creature possesses class features (such as spellcasting or sneak attack) for the class that is being added, these abilities stack. This functions just like adding class levels to a character without racial Hit Dice.

So, yes, they stack and your Nymph-Druid 1 is a level 8 Druid for the purposes of spellcasting, a level 9 druid for the purposes of Wild Empathy and a level 1 druid for other abilities.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Creature with Spellcasting, Advancing as a Spellcaster All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions