Is maintaining a grapple considered a grapple combat maneuver?


Rules Questions

Lantern Lodge

There's a bunch of items that say "You gain a +x bonus against grapple attempts". Item use the exact same wording for trip, bull rush, disarm, and all other combat maneuvers. However, grapple is the only one that perpetuates beyond the initial attempt.

Do such bonuses apply to CMD when defending against someone maintaining their grapple on you?

Does Anaconda Coil's only apply to the first initial grapple attempt?

I would assume yes, but then the Maneuver Master Monk would be able to full attack and maintain a grapple. What do you guys think?

Lantern Lodge

Bumpity bumpity bump!


Just about any roll using cmb is a combat maneuver.

Lantern Lodge

So, a Maneuver Master Monk could maintain a grapple with his flurry? Thats the main question for me. It seems... off, but I want it to work.

The Exchange

Yes, the other creature is making a grapple check. MM is pretty clear about what you do. You gain an extra maneuver, even if it's a standard action, so he could disarm-trip-grapple (or any series really) when flurrying at a high enough level or at 1st a full attack could be; att-CM or CM-CM. At 8th level he could att-att-CM-CM. In essence yes...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is maintaining a grapple considered a grapple combat maneuver? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions