PFS Wizard Bonded Object Questions


Advice


Ok, I generally play spontaneous casters but I am considering giving wizard another try in PFS play.
.
Most of the known strengths of the prepared caster do not actually come into play in my home group. So the last time I tried it, it was a rather boring mediocre experience. I think most of the factors that detracted from the wizard will not be present in PFS most of the time. Also, that only other wizard I tried had a familiar and I am considering a bonded object this time.
.
So, I’ve never really give a serious contemplation of bonded objects and have a few questions to make sure I am understanding this correctly.
.
If I did this, it would be a primary caster so I would not be that interested in the weapon choice for a bonded object. I think I would rather not use up my ring or amulet slot. Which leaves wand or staff as my primary possibilities under consideration.
.

  • Even in PFS I can ‘craft item’ on my bonded object without having the correct craft feat. However, I would have to still qualify for taking the feat. So I would not be able to ‘craft’ a wand until 5th caster level and staff until 11th caster level. Correct?
  • Prior to qualifying to ‘craft’ my wand or staff, I could bond to a purchased magic wand or staff. Correct?
  • Only once a day I can use the bonded object to cast any spell that is not in an opposition school as if I had prepared it. This does not use up any preparation slots or prepared spells. It can not be cast with any metamagic applied. It uses all my feats, traits, CL, casting stat, etc… Correct?
  • If I am bonded to a wand of Lightning Bolt (PFS so CL =5 and casting stat of 13). It would still be cast at minimum CL of 5, save DC=14, and only a +5 on the roll to beat SR if applicable. Correct?
  • I could fix the above with the Staff Like Wand discovery which lets a wizard use his CL and casting stat with wands. Does it also apply your feats, traits, and class abilities? However this discovery requires wizard level 11 and the Craft Staff feat. Crafting feats are not allowed in PFS, so I think that kills this option in PFS. Correct?
  • ’Crafting’ my bonded object will cost half as much as a purchased wand or staff. I will be able to craft a wand much sooner than a staff. Correct?
  • A staff can be recharged by the wizard that owns it. You can’t just make a staff with any spells in it. Can only make one of the selections specifically mentioned in the books and allowed for PFS (iirc there were a few that are prohibited). Correct?
    .
    If I am correct on all (or at least most) of the above, it sounds like a staff is a better choice since it will use my level and casting stat when better. It will cost me more during the mid level when I could have been crafting the wand. But as long as I chose a staff that I will use for a long time, the recharging might make it cheaper in the long run.

  • Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

    Revolving Door Alternate wrote:
  • Even in PFS I can ‘craft item’ on my bonded object without having the correct craft feat. However, I would have to still qualify for taking the feat. So I would not be able to ‘craft’ a wand until 5th caster level and staff until 11th caster level. Correct?
  • If those are the level prereqs for those feats (I haven't checked), then yes.

    Quote:
  • Prior to qualifying to ‘craft’ my wand or staff, I could bond to a purchased magic wand or staff. Correct?
  • Yes, but be aware that bonding an item other than the automatic one at 1st level will cost you gold based on your level.

    Quote:
  • Only once a day I can use the bonded object to cast any spell that is not in an opposition school as if I had prepared it. This does not use up any preparation slots or prepared spells. It can not be cast with any metamagic applied. It uses all my feats, traits, CL, casting stat, etc… Correct?
  • Sounds right, yes.

    Quote:
  • If I am bonded to a wand of Lightning Bolt (PFS so CL =5 and casting stat of 13). It would still be cast at minimum CL of 5, save DC=14, and only a +5 on the roll to beat SR if applicable. Correct?
  • Correct. For some spells, though, you won't care; I've played alongside a wizard with a bonded wand of haste. Martials like that guy. :)

    Quote:
    However this discovery requires wizard level 11 and the Craft Staff feat. Crafting feats are not allowed in PFS, so I think that kills this option in PFS. Correct?

    You could probably answer that question by looking it up in Additional Resources.

    Quote:
    •’Crafting’ my bonded object will cost half as much as a purchased wand or staff. I will be able to craft a wand much sooner than a staff. Correct?

    Yep.

    Quote:
    •A staff can be recharged by the wizard that owns it. You can’t just make a staff with any spells in it. Can only make one of the selections specifically mentioned in the books and allowed for PFS (iirc there were a few that are prohibited). Correct?

    Correct.

    I do want to point out one thing: if you don't have your bonded object worn or in hand, you have to make a hefty concentration check to cast any spells at all. A staff or wand can be snatched with a disarm or steal maneuver. A ring can't. (Also, you get two ring slots.)

    Just sayin'.


    Jiggy wrote:
    ... For some spells, though, you won't care; I've played alongside a wizard with a bonded wand of haste. Martials like that guy. :) ...

    Just verifying my understanding that a bonded wand for offensive spells will probably be a poor choice.

    Jiggy wrote:
    ... You could probably answer that question by looking it up in Additional Resources. ...

    Yep, I was looking in the wrong section. For some reason I was thinking staff like wand was in the APG. But it is in the UM and the additional resources page does specifically say that it is not legal for PFS.

    Jiggy wrote:
    ... I do want to point out one thing: if you don't have your bonded object worn or in hand, you have to make a hefty concentration check to cast any spells at all. A staff or wand can be snatched with a disarm or steal maneuver. A ring can't. (Also, you get two ring slots.) ...

    True. And since I don't need the belt of physical whatever, I could get a meridian belt to have 4 rings.

    Liberty's Edge

    Also keep in mind that most wizards only have two hands, which means that if you take a bonded wand, staff, or weapon, you cannot cast spells if you're trying to hold something in your off hand, because you no longer have a hand free to cast with. So use of, for example, a persistent rod is right out, unless you're casting a spell with only verbal components. You'd still be able to use a still rod, though.

    Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

    Oooh, good point DeathSpot. Also becomes an issue if you're grappled.

    Liberty's Edge

    This should probably be moved to the actual PFS forums since it specifically deals with PFS rules ...


    DeathSpot wrote:
    Also keep in mind that most wizards only have two hands, which means that if you take a bonded wand, staff, or weapon, you cannot cast spells if you're trying to hold something in your off hand, because you no longer have a hand free to cast with. So use of, for example, a persistent rod is right out, unless you're casting a spell with only verbal components. You'd still be able to use a still rod, though.

    Carp! That never occurred to me. I'm not sure I've ever heard of a GM enforcing that. But it is against the rules even if none of the GM's ever say anything.

    So I guess my bonded object will be a ring or amulet.

    Thanks for confirming my understanding anywho.

    Marc Radle wrote:
    This should probably be moved to the actual PFS forums since it specifically deals with PFS rules ...

    I have been told that unless the question is only related to the specific implementation within PFS, it should not be in the PFS forum. Since it was mostly a series of questions on the general rules about how a bonded wand or staff would function with only slight clarifications for PFS it would not be appropriate to put in the PFS forum.

    Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / PFS Wizard Bonded Object Questions All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.
    Recent threads in Advice