
![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Ok so creating this post mainly for FAQ clarification.
So i am running a PFS character with a faerie dragon and i ran into this rules conflict that, in retrospect could be clearer.
So FAQ, bestiary reference, states that any creature that has a 'cast as' listing can use trigger items of that class.
So to put it in context. Faerie Dragons cast as 3rd level sorcerers. So...they should be able to uses wands, scrolls ect... from the Wiz/Soc list without a UMD roll.
Now we move to additional resource that states, in a general sense, that familiars can use UMD to use trigger items if they have hands.
so i have been going with the FAQ while running my character, because well, its logical. I dont think additional resources intended to create this conflict per say, since Faerie Dragon is the only Familiar actually in possession of caster levels. But... I thought I would put this out there with a FAQ flag so maybe they will, some day, clear this up.

![]() |
I fail to see the question or the problem.
sorry thought that was clear, so an example
does a faerie dragon familiar need to make a umd roll to use say, a wand of magic missiles. FAQ says no, Additional resources would lend towards yes...but does not address the FAQ rule at all.

Cevah |

Now we move to additional resource that states, in a general sense, that familiars can use UMD to use trigger items if they have hands.
so i have been going with the FAQ while running my character, because well, its logical. I dont think additional resources intended to create this conflict per say, since Faerie Dragon is the only Familiar actually in possession of caster levels. But... I thought I would put this out there with a FAQ flag so maybe they will, some day, clear this up.
Does the "additional resources" say they can only use UMD? As worded above, they have the option if they want to use it, but since they don't need to, they would not UMD.
/cevah

Shifty |

So to put it in context. Faerie Dragons cast as 3rd level sorcerers. So...they should be able to uses wands, scrolls ect... from the Wiz/Soc list without a UMD roll.
Correct. Just like any other Sorc.
Now we move to additional resource that states, in a general sense, that familiars can use UMD to use trigger items if they have hands.
Correct, just like any other Sorc.

![]() |
There is no issue.
General Rule: Familiars can utilize UMD provided they have hands.
Specific Rule: Faerie Dragons can cast as a third level sorcerer, therefore they can use sorcerer/wizard trigger items without a UMD roll.
Specific trumps General for sorcerer/wizard trigger items.
Thanks all, that is, clearly, what i was thinking as well. Appreciate the confirmation.