Spell caster and material components, a move action to retrive ?


Rules Questions


Material (M)

A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don't bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Lets assume the spellcaster has the ingredient in a spell pouch, by RAW shouldnt he need to spend a move action to retrive it before casting ?

Also by raw Quick Draw (Combat) should not cover this, it says weapons only

Comments ?


Retrieving a material component is considered part of the action for casting the spell.

PRD wrote:
To cast a spell with a material (M), focus (F), or divine focus (DF) component, you have to have the proper materials, as described by the spell. Unless these components are elaborate, preparing them is a free action. For material components and focuses whose costs are not listed in the spell description, you can assume that you have them if you have your spell component pouch.

Spellcasters would be much less playable otherwise, barring Eschew Materials.


Nah. I forget where, but it is included in the standard action (or whatever action the spell is) to draw the reagent. RAW. I can look for it and post later.


That is actually a good question. I'm not entirely convinced by Blaphers quote, because preparing is not the same as drawing. That said I'd never enforce it by RAW.


Preparing spell components to cast a spell is listed as a Free Action that does not provoke an AoO in the Actions in Combat table.


Lifat wrote:
That is actually a good question. I'm not entirely convinced by Blaphers quote, because preparing is not the same as drawing. That said I'd never enforce it by RAW.

That's fair. I interpret them as the same by intent because doing otherwise has a drastic effect on the mechanics of spellcasting as a whole, and such a difference would likely be widely known if this was the intent. In other words, I'll need some pretty convincing arguments that drawing is not part of the preparation described by the rules text.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell caster and material components, a move action to retrive ? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions