Snakeskin Tunic question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Snakeskin Tunic has the following text:

"Reveal this card to add 1 to your Dexterity check.
Recharge this card to reduce combat or poison damage dealt to you by 1.
Ranish this card to reduce all damage dealt to you to 0. If you are proficient with lght armours, bury it instead"

Now, from the FAQ:

"Remember that players may not play more than one of each card type during a check, so if you previously played a spell to affect the check, you may not play a spell to reduce damage."

So, if you use the Snakeskin Tunic to add 1 to your Dexterity-based combat check, you then can't use it (or any other armour) to reduce damage if your combat check fails? Ouch!

And, by the same logic, if I use a wand of force missile in a combat check, I then can't use an amulet of life to prevent damage?


Yes, you're right on both accounts.

Plan carefully! ;)


I thought they'd clarified that damage and the check were separate and that you COULD play the same card type.


Hmmm....guess not. Was I just smoking something when I thought this was going to be the case? Wasn't the whole attack spell/arcane armor issue going to be "fixed"?


Mike Riley 302 wrote:
Hmmm....guess not. Was I just smoking something when I thought this was going to be the case? Wasn't the whole attack spell/arcane armor issue going to be "fixed"?

It has been, but in a different way.

From the FAQ.
If I've already played a spell on a check, can I play Arcane Armor or Mirror Image to reduce damage?
Generally, you can't play a second spell on a check unless it says so. However, damage-reduction spells (and only spells, for the most part) should usually say so.

Resolution: On the spell Arcane Armor, add the following at the end of the first power: "You may play this card even if you have played another spell on this check."

On the spell Mirror Image, change the first power to the following:
"If a monster deals damage to you, you may display this card, even if you have played another spell on this check. Roll 1d4; on a result other than 1, reduce the damage to 0. Do this each time a monster deals damage to you. Discard this card at the end of the turn."


Ok, I have a similar question relating to this sort of thing. One of the monster cards deals 1 damage before and after the encounter. If I have a ring of protection, could I reveal it once before the encounter to nullify the first piece of damage and then reveal it again after the encounter to nullify the second?

Thanks!


@AndyWhy - The before the encounter, encounter itself and after the encounter are different steps so your choice of cards is reset for each one.

I'm not sure what the Ring of Protection does, but yes - any given character can use one item before the encounter, one for each check in the encounter and one after the encounter.


Here's a question that the Ring of Protection would prompt, but might be applicable for other things. Assuming the RoP protects 1 damage and not 1 combat damage (don't remember which it does), could it be used for the pre-encounter damage from an Enchantress, for the damage you take when you lose the encounter, and then for the post-damage? Basically 3 times for the same encounter

Maybe it's been answered in the sense of "Can I use an Elven Chain Shirt to block a Scout's ranged damage, and then the damage from failing the Scout's combat check?"

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Dave,

See h4ppy's answer just above your question.


Ugh! So much for my reading comprehension.

Makes me reconsider my 2x armor for Merisiel. But I don't think we saw a Ring of Protection in our whole run through Skinsaw, so I didn't even know it existed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Snakeskin Tunic question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion