Dimensional Steps, Conjuration Specialist ability


Rules Questions


"Dimensional Steps (Sp): At 8th level, you can use this ability to teleport up to 30 feet per wizard level per day as a standard action. This teleportation must be used in 5-foot increments and such movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity. You can bring other willing creatures with you, but you must expend an equal amount of distance for each additional creature brought with you."

1: This seems to read to me that you can teleport a total number of feet per day equal to level * 30, so at level 8 you can teleport 320 feet. There's no limitation on how often you can do this per day, so I assume it's ok to just spend one standard action to move the full distance.

2: The movement itself is specifically called out as not provoking an attack of opportunity. Does using the spell like ability itself provoke an attack of opportunity?

3: Because the ability specifically specifies the teleportation is done in 5 foot steps, does this mean you must always have something to stand on? Can you teleport over lava without falling into it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Teleportation is not movement that provokes. "Movement" the game term refers to move with a speed such as normal movement, flying, swimming, burrowing, and anything with a speed I may have overlooked.

The casting of the SLA does provoke, but you can cast defensively to get around that.

It is saying it is done in 5 foot step just to let you know the smallest distance you are allowed to travel. You can easily teleport across an open space. You just have to land on a solid area if you can't fly.


Great!

I assume this means it IS ok to use up all my moves in a single use?


Ganryu wrote:

Great!

I assume this means it IS ok to use up all my moves in a single use?

Yes.


It's not five-foot-steps, it's five-foot-increments.

Meaning you can't teleport 4 feet, or 17. But you can teleport any integer multiple of 5 feet up to your cap.

Also, 8*30 = 240, not 320.


seebs wrote:

It's not five-foot-steps, it's five-foot-increments.

That is correct. I knew what he meant, but I still should have made a correction in case he had the wrong idea.

PS: The rest of the your post was correct also.


This is excellent!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dimensional Steps, Conjuration Specialist ability All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions