Touch Attacks and Gauntlets?


Rules Questions


Just checking to be sure, can you deliver a touch attack through a gauntlet or do the hands have to be bare?

Even better question, must you deliver a touch attack with your hand at all?

Thanks

OH

Shadow Lodge

Going back to threads that are probably deleted now, you can use a gauntlet to make a touch attack, but it becomes a normal armed attack, vs normal AC.

You may also do so while wearing a gauntlet/glove.

For the last question, it gets a bit weird. For a typical humanoid, with 2 hands, arms, legs, etc. . . yes, it needs to be a hand. For other creatures that might have something different, the can use the appropriate body part.


So any kind of covering on the hand means the Touch AC delivery goes out the window?

What about say a Judas Kiss type delivery?

OH


You may deliver a touch attack while wearing gloves, gauntlets, etc just fine. It does not turn into a regular attack, and the spell is not discharged because you are "touching" the hand covering (much like it doesn't discharge if you are touch the ground, or your clothing, or the air).

Here have a FAQ.

You may, however, deliver it as a regular attack if you so choose, rolling against regular AC and dealing gauntlet damage along with the spell.

As far as I know, there is no caveat about which body part you must deliver it with, as long as you have the free hand required to cast the spell and hold the charge. Mechanically there is no difference if you touch them with your hand, your feet, the tip of your nose, or your crotch, so long as you don't break the rules by trying to do so to get around the full hands restriction.

Shadow Lodge

Rynjin wrote:

You may deliver a touch attack while wearing gloves, gauntlets, etc just fine. It does not turn into a regular attack, and the spell is not discharged because you are "touching" the hand covering (much like it doesn't discharge if you are touch the ground, or your clothing, or the air).

Here have a FAQ.

You may, however, deliver it as a regular attack if you so choose, rolling against regular AC and dealing gauntlet damage along with the spell.

As far as I know, there is no caveat about which body part you must deliver it with, as long as you have the free hand required to cast the spell and hold the charge. Mechanically there is no difference if you touch them with your hand, your feet, the tip of your nose, or your crotch, so long as you don't break the rules by trying to do so to get around the full hands restriction.

I was talking about turning the touch attack into an attack, to deal both unarmed strike damage and the touch spell. Should have been more clear, but basically exactly what you just posted. :)


Ok, this isn't a case of bashing and casting here. Got a concept of a creepy Inq/Sorc I'm working on with Spellbreaker/Spellkiller who is all arms and legs. He grapples the opposing arcane and then touch spell/SLAs them ad infinitum. The Judas Kiss would just fit right in there as a delivery system. Just was wondering if I could do that and wear the Gauntlets of Skilled Maneuver

OH


If you cast shocking grasp, missed, then wielded a staff in two hands and hit someone with it, could you still hold the charge?

Shadow Lodge

depends on if you are using the staff one or two handed.


Kwauss wrote:
If you cast shocking grasp, missed, then wielded a staff in two hands and hit someone with it, could you still hold the charge?

Nope. Not unless you were Spellstriking as a Magus.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Attacks and Gauntlets? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions