Rules Clarification: Flexible Counterspell (Mythic)


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Greetings all, need a clarification on Flexible Counterspell:

Flexible Counterspell (SU): Your mythic power enhances your ability to counter others' spells. As an immediate action, you can expend one use of mythic power to attempt to counter a spell. This ability otherwise works like readying an action to counter a spell, except instead of using the exact spell or dispel magic, you can instead expend a spell or spell slot of a level equal to or higher than the target spell.

Example - We have a round order that looks like this:

1 BadGuy Fighter
2 Badguy Caster
3 Player Fighter
4 Player Sorcerer
5 Player Cleric.

In this round order, if Player Sorcerer wants to use Flexible Counterspell on BadGuy Caster's turn to counter the caster's spell (assuming they've identified it and can in fact counter it), does that move the initiative of Player Sorcerer's to just after BadGuy Caster?

Does it prohibit Player Sorcerer from using a Standard Action on their round?

I ask b/c Flexible Counterspell states "As an immediate action...", but then goes on to say "This ability otherwise works like readying an action to counter a spell,".

If it is an immediate action, does it no longer count as a readied action, as usual with counterspell? This seems in conflict with the statement later on, in that it acts like counterspell (readying an action).

Curious what others thoughts are, and if this has come up in a game situation?


I don't think so, as it is still an immediate action instead of the special ready action, and the ready action is what causes your initiative to change. An action only has one temporal type--it can't be both an immediate action and a ready action any more than an action could be both a move action and a full-round action.

Instead, you'd use up your swift action for the next round as normal. The reference "otherwise ..." refers to the behavior of the action you're taking--that it causes a spell to not occur, that it uses up the spell you used to counter, and so on.


Blaphers, thanks for the comment, that seems to make sense. Anyone else have thoughts or had a similar situation?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rules Clarification: Flexible Counterspell (Mythic) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions