Cloak of the Bat usage- Must hold with both hands?


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

The Cloak of the Bat states:

"By holding the edges of the garment, the wearer is able to fly as per the spell (including a +7 bonus on Fly skill checks)."

I just wanted to get clarification-

Does the person using it needs to grasps both edges with both hands? Can the player wearing it fly (hover) and attack? It would appear that the hands would be used holding the cloak and thus they cannot be used to do anything else.

Grand Lodge

He just needs to use both hands to make the Batman stance that activates the flying ability of the cloak so his hands ARE tied up for that standard action. Once the flight is active, he can use both of his hands normally in subsequent rounds.


no... it says he's able to fly as the fly spell by holding the edges of the garment. It doesn't say he gets a fly spell cast on him when he holds the edges of the garment. You're a bat. Do bats have an extra set of hands to manipulate items with, no they do not. Their wings and their hands are basically the same thing (yes I know, using flavortext for mechanics, bad me, but in this case invoking the image of the bat clearly seems like what the writer intended for this item).

As far as attacking, sure you could. You could hover and attack, if you were using Unarmed Strikes, or natural attacks, probably even Armor spikes. Manufactured weapons that require a hand though? No, not so much.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cloak of the Bat usage- Must hold with both hands? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions