Clarrify Armor Penalties


Rules Questions


Please tell me if I have this right -

The Max Dexterity Bonus stat of an armor type is the maximum adjustment to the character's Armor Class due to Dexterity when wearing this armor. If their Dexterity bonus would normally raise it above this, they lose the extra. It effects AC only though, and has no effect on any other Dexterity based skills or actions.

The Armor Check Penalty however, is a penalty applied directly to any Strength or Dexterity based skills but not the armor class.

Lastly the character's encumbrance load can impose a similar Max Dexterity Bonus and Armor Check Penalty, in addition to that suffered from worn armor type.

If I have this right, and I hope I do, then I can immediately imagine a wierd situation from this rule's standpoint.

My character is attempting to use his Strength to break down a dungeon door. Does his armor actually impede this?

A Dexterity hindrance I can understand but strength? Does this apply toward melee attacks as well?


The ACP (Armor Check Penalty) doesn't apply to ability checks unless you lack proficiency in the armor - only Strength- and Dex-based skills.

Scarab Sages

As Oladon said, it only effects STR and DEX based skill rolls. Breaking down a dungeon door is a STR based melee attack.


Yes, only limits Dex to AC
Yes, str+dex skills (+ attacks if you are not proficient in the armor)
Yes, use the higher of armor or encumbrance limitations, armor weight also goes to encumbrance(could matter for low STR builds)

No. A strength check to break something is not a skill check... No penalty.
Attacks are also not skill checks. so no penalty unless you are wearing armor without proper armor proficiency.

And strength checks to break something is usually for when under pressure or time limitations; if you have the time you simply beat it 'til it breaks.


kronovan wrote:
As Oladon said, it only effects STR and DEX based skill rolls. Breaking down a dungeon door is a STR based melee attack.

Nit-picking, perhaps, but a Strength check isn't the same thing as an attack. One is an ability check, the other is an attack roll... and they're quite different as far as modifiers go.


ah, so you only use the more stringent of the two, armor or encumbrance. I missed that. And yes, I see the difference between an ability check and skill check. Thanks for the help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarrify Armor Penalties All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions