How exactly do Mortification rituals work?


Rules Questions


I've got a player that would like to use the Mortification rituals (from Chronicle of the Righteous), and I'm trying to make sure I'm understanding them correctly.

The book states that "a creature can instigate a ritual of mortification by refraining from eating, drinkinf, and sleeping for a certain number of days..." and that "this initial investment deals 1d6 nonlethal damage...at the beginning of each day so invested."

-So would this replace the normal penalties for going without food or water (Starvation and Thirst) or the penalties for going without Rest? If so, that's a bunch of Fort saves and lots of nonlethal damage to engage in the longer rituals.

-Would taking a potion count as 'drinking' for the requirements?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How exactly do Mortification rituals work? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions