Reloading for your eidolon


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

So I had this idea of making a gnome mech pilot. IE a small summoner riding a medium eidolon. The eidolon takes exotic weapon prof fireams and shoots a musket.

The question is, as the gnome riding the eidolon, could you spend your full round actions to reload your mount's gun, allowing the eidolon to move and fire every turn?

Extending this line of thought, if the gnome could reload as a free action, could the eidolon full attack?

Liberty's Edge

I think for this to work you would both need QuickDraw so picking up the weapon each time is free. It's a strange concept but might work (although isn't a round suppose to happen all at once?)

Sovereign Court

Think of it like a cannon crew. One person loads it, the second fires. The way I imagine it, there is no trading of the weapon. The eidolon is holding it the entire time.

I understand the everything happening at once concept makes that not make sense, but then again, nothing about taking turns makes sense if you think about it supposed to be happening at once. How can you full attack someone who charged you? They weren't standing there the entire turn, so why do you get to hit them more then they get to hit you? Why don't you both meet in the middle if you were intending to charge them but they beat you in initiative and charged first? It's all just arbitrary to make it function as a game and not be ridiculously complicated.

Balance-wise it seems perfectly fine. Instead of two people each firing their own gun once every other round, they fire one gun each round. It equals the same amount of shots. It's mostly just for thematics of the gnomish inventor riding his war machine.
Still looking for some rules basis to support (or refute) the idea.


Rules: There are no rules for handing an item from one person to another.
The closest you will come up with is that it is a free action to drop an item and a move action to pick it up.

Quickdraw does not help you pick up a weapon. It is still a move equivalent action that provokes an AoO.

If you get a rather favorable GM it MIGHT be considered "Draw a Weapon" in which case it is a move action that does not provoke (and Quickdraw will apply).

- Gauss

Liberty's Edge

Thats the idea I had for quickdraw, if its PFS then I have no clue, if its a home game then I think it could work.

Sovereign Court

again, I'm not trying to hand any items off. I want one person to hold the weapon while a second person loads it.

Sounds like there isn't any hard rules for it, so it'd be an at the call of the gm type of thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reloading for your eidolon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions