Arcane Bond and the Lich's Phylactery


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can a Wizard use his ability to Craft his Bonded Object into a Magic item, as if he had the requisite feat, to create a Lich's Phylactery?

Grand Lodge

To note, the Bestiary entry for the Lich template states:

Pathfinder Bestiary wrote:

The Lich's Phylactery

An integral part of becoming a lich is the creation of the phylactery in which the character stores his soul. The only way to get rid of a lich for sure is to destroy its phylactery. Unless its phylactery is located and destroyed, a lich can rejuvenate after it is killed.

Each lich must create its own phylactery by using the Craft Wondrous Item feat. The character must be able to cast spells and have a caster level of 11th or higher. The phylactery costs 120,000 gp to create and has a caster level equal to that of its creator at the time of creation.

The most common form of phylactery is a sealed metal box containing strips of parchment on which magical phrases have been transcribed. The box is Tiny and has 40 hit points, hardness 20, and a break DC of 40.

Other forms of phylacteries can exist, such as rings, amulets, or similar items.


The "similar items" part of the quote is a bit vague.

However, I'd allow a Wizard to do that if I were the DM.

Grand Lodge

Well, both Rings and Amulets can be a Bonded Object.

Also, there are a number of NPC Liches in Paizo published adventures that have different kinds of phylacteries.

This part is not in question.


The Lich's Phylactery is a magical item. There is really no questioning that fact so far as I'm concerned about the topic as such.

Thus, I can safely say that a Wizard can use his ability to Craft a Bonded Object into a Magic Item and thus create a Lich's Phylactery.

Dark Archive

Don't see why not.


Another fact to reinforce the argument is that there is no specific restriction that would trump the general guidelines.

Grand Lodge

So, a PC with an Arcane Bond via Eldritch Heritage, can be a Lich?


blackbloodtroll wrote:
So, a PC with an Arcane Bond via Eldritch Heritage, can be a Lich?

We've already seen a Cleric Lich and an Alchemist Lich. By that note, a Sorcerer Lich doesn't sound far-fetched.

Grand Lodge

PFS?

Blatant Elitism?

What?


Someone posted here, but I guess I scared him off so he deleted his post. I've given mine an edit.


The only problem with this is the lich will need to constantly carry his phylactery around which seems somewhat unsafe.


Hidden in plain sight? The average adventurer wouldn't assume a Lich of all things to be that reckless.


Right, but then they loot the lich and then notice a body starting to reform next to them in camp over the next 1d10 days.


Wasn't there a rule that a lich's phylactery could not also be a magic item? Is a bonded object a magic item?


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
Wasn't there a rule that a lich's phylactery could not also be a magic item? Is a bonded object a magic item?

First I've heard of such a rule. Seems pretty silly to me.

Grand Lodge

A Lich's Phylactery is a magic item.

Grand Lodge

blackbloodtroll wrote:
Can a Wizard use his ability to Craft his Bonded Object into a Magic item, as if he had the requisite feat, to create a Lich's Phylactery?

It doesn't make it any EASIER to make the phylactery which takes something not described by feats. It also turns something that can be safely stowed away elsewhere, into something he has to have on his person to cast spells at par.


It saves the wizard a feat.


Quote:
If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

This is the problem with this plan. As I see it, when the "bonded lich" is destroyed and then his phylactery becomes a normal item.

You could still probably achieve lichdom through this route, but you are giving up one of the big advantages of lichdom.

Grand Lodge

Indeed, it is, more or less, just a feat saving option.

Grand Lodge

Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
Wasn't there a rule that a lich's phylactery could not also be a magic item? Is a bonded object a magic item?

All the rules on phylacteries pretty much wind up as "GM's Call". Word on a certain street says that a lich's phylactery can even serve as a cleric's holy symbol.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcane Bond and the Lich's Phylactery All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions