cleric Channel energy at 1st level.


Rules Questions


Im sure this has been answered but...I have a question regarding a cleric channel energy at 1st level. The RAW states:
"Creatures that take damage from channeled energy receive a Will save to halve the damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the cleric's level + the cleric's Charisma modifier."

My questions is at 1st level would you use 1 for the cleric level or 0 for the cleric level when calculating the DC.

For example, a 1st level cleric with a charisma score of 10 goes to channel energy against the undead. Is the save DC equal to 10 or 11?

SMURF


Usually 1/2 level includes the statement of (minimum 1).

Sovereign Court

When dealing with fractions one must round down in Pathfinder.

Thus your 10 charisma first level cleric has a DC of 10 for their channel energy.

If it had a minimum value for that 1/2 level it would have explicitly said as such.


The standard rule in pf is to round down.

Sczarni

Round down.


Thank you for the quick reponses. I smurf-ly appreciate it!

Sczarni

Oh. My bad. Sorry. I forgot to include your -1 racial penalty to everything for being a Smurf. I guess that would factor into the DCs for your channel energy, too.

EDIT: What the? What happened to my Avatar?? Lol

Sovereign Court

Only a particular type of small blue woodland fey are allowed to use the S-word. If it is used in your post then quite obviously you are one and the message board knows this and updates your avatar with the new information for that post!

Very handy!


Thats freaky.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Wait, so if you say smurf, your avatar changes?

EDIT:...

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

One of my first GMs, back in the early '90s, had us fighting hordes of blue-skinned goblins wearing funny hats and diapers. Didn't take us long to get the analogy. There used to be a Dungeons & Dragons cartoon on television in the '80s, but there was a push by the religious right to cancel the series (hard core religious ppl today still think RPGs are Satanic). The cartoon was replaced with another about blue-skinned goblins wearing funny hats and diapers. And so I guess GMs still to this day take out their aggressions however they can.


Psyren wrote:

Wait, so if you say smurf, your avatar changes?

EDIT:...

Woo, Smurfy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / cleric Channel energy at 1st level. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.