Natural Attacks and Range weapons


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I know that you normally can not make attack of opportunities with a ranger weapon (lets say a Longbow), but can you make an attack of opportunity with a natural weapon instead?

The person is holding the bow with one hand while not retrieving an arrow to shoot in an opponent's turn. So will he be able to make attacks of opportunities (lets say with a slam attack)?


Sure, if your hand is armed (claw, slam, improved unarmed strike) and free, you threaten squares and can make AoOs.


harzerkatze wrote:
Sure, if your hand is armed (claw, slam, improved unarmed strike) and free, you threaten squares and can make AoOs.

That is part of the confusion here. By raw, a bow is a 'two handed weapon,' even though logically you would only have one hand on it at a time.

Luckily, taking your hand on and off your weapon is a free action (or maybe non-action?). Although that could interfere with taking AoO with snap shot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Natural Attacks and Range weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.