Spell Storing and spells that affect the caster.


Rules Questions


Spell Storing Armor:
This armor allows a spellcaster to store a single touch spell of up to 3rd level in it. Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires. Once the spell has been cast from the armor, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted touch spell of up to 3rd level into it. The armor magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled suit of spell storing armor has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already. Spell storing armor emits a strong aura of the evocation school, plus the aura of the stored spell.

Spell Storing Weapons:
A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance of having a spell stored in it already. This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons.

So the armor version requires a touch spell, the weapon version can store any targetted spell. My question is, what happens when that spell has an effect on the caster? Vampiric Touch for instance? Do the temporary hp go to the armor/weapon? Are they lost? Or is the wielder/wearer considered the "caster" for such things?


If you want to go strictly by RAW then the armor or weapon are the 'casters' and they would gain any benefits which usually amounts to nothing (except if someone tried to damage the weapon/armor, temporary hp might be handy then :p)
However I would (probably) allow the character wearing the armor (or using the weapon) to benefit from any positive outcomes of the spell. Though probably not strictly by RAW, it makes the spell storing items a bit more versatile and useful.

Edit: the wording on the Spell Storing armor is a bit strange. The wearer will usually be hit outside of his turn which makes using the swift action to activate it a little difficult (swift actions can only be done on your own turn). The RAI should make it an immediate action.

Sczarni

Spell Storing Weapons should work like regularly cast spells but through a weapon. Character is the caster, because; caster cannot be object and character wields and activates the spell stored in weapon.

I will mention also that there is NPC in one AP from paizo, that uses Vampiric Touch spell stored into a weapon, so it would seem at least RAI that spells that target the caster in some way like Vampiric Touch work normally.

Spell Storing Armor I believe has either flaw or mistake in print. Spell from armor can be used only as a Swift Action (on your turn), which not only uses up your Swift Action, but prevents you from activating it outside your turn on round. It can be easily houseruled in a home game that it's immediate action instead.


Malag wrote:
I will mention also that there is NPC in one AP from paizo, that uses Vampiric Touch spell stored into a weapon, so it would seem at least RAI that spells that target the caster in some way like Vampiric Touch work normally.

Thanks Malag, this helps a lot. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Storing and spells that affect the caster. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.