Can one use Snake Style while armed?


Rules Questions


I don't read anything against it, but there is some arguing on our table.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/combat-feats/snake-style-combat-style.

I'd appreciate some thougts or linking :)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can be using weapons and also use the feat. Just like you can be holding a sword in one hand and still use crane style, so long as the other hand is empty.

However, the later feats in the chain state that you have to make an unarmed strike for your free attack/sense motive crit confirmation.

So, a monk wielding a quarterstaff can fight with the quarterstaff, and against a single attack per round use his Sense Motive check for AC. (From Snake Style)

If he has the later feats in the chain, when missed by an attack can then respond with an unarmed strike but could not make the free attack with the quarterstaff. (From Snake Fang)

Lots of the Style feats have "always on" bonuses, and other bonuses that only apply to Unarmed Strikes (which someone with Improved Unarmed Strike can make even if his hands are full, as they are also kicks/headbutts).


Thx for the fast answer!
This is how I understand it as well.
Does anybody disagree TGMaxMaxer?

Liberty's Edge

I concur with TGMaxMaxer, Snake Style mentions no requirement to be unarmed, however, the follow up feats in the chain do require unarmed attacks.


Thank you, Fomsie. Yes I am aware of that fact in Snake Fang. Any further agrees or disagrees?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can one use Snake Style while armed? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.