Sparky Spain
|
I thought I knew how this ring worked, but not anymore...
1) If the PC is an Oracle with the Nature mystery, and they have a Ring of Revelation with a non-Nature revelation (like Combat Healer), can they use the ring by making a Use Magic Device check?
2) If they can make a Use Magic Device check, how do you interpret the result?
Example: A level 9 Oracle of Nature "UMD's" a ring with the Combat Healer revelation.
* They roll a 20, making their "effective level of the emulated class" 0. Can they even use the ring ("must be 7th level")?
* They roll a 31, making their "effective level of the emulated class" 11. Can the oracle use Combat Healer once per day or twice?
3) Again, assuming "yes" to #1, when would they need to make the UMD check? Is it dependent on the revelation? Some revelations are a permanent bonus (like Skill at Arms), and some are limited uses per day.
Thanks in advance!
| Claxon |
By the item's description I don't think you can use UMD to emulate a mystery you don't have to fool the ring into giving you a revelation you wouldn't otherwise have access to. UMD allows you to emulate a class ability, but doesn't give you the ability. The ring requires you actually have the appropriate mystery to use the power. If it required a Mystery to activate the item which then cast a spell you'd be fine, but that's a different scenario.
So, I don't think you can use the item in this way. You would have to use the Ring of Revelation to obtain a revelation from the Nature Mystery only.
Edit:
Emulate a Class Feature: Sometimes you need to use a class feature to activate a magic item. In this case, your effective level in the emulated class equals your Use Magic Device check result minus 20. This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature. If the class whose feature you are emulating has an alignment requirement, you must meet it, either honestly or by emulating an appropriate alignment with a separate Use Magic Device check (see above).
A ring of revelation is a divine item attuned to a particular oracular mystery and containing a revelation associated with that mystery (see the oracle class description). While wearing the ring, an oracle has access to that revelation and may use it as if she had it as a normal class feature. The oracle must have the appropriate mystery to use the ring, and must meet the level requirements (if any) of the revelation itself; for example, a ring of revelation (combat healer) is only usable by an oracle of at least 7th level with the battle mystery. If the oracle already has that revelation and the revelation gives an ability with a limited number of uses per day, the oracle can use that ability one additional time per day. The ring has no effect if worn by a non-oracle.
UMD lets you acticate items as though you had the ability, it doesn't give you the ability. The Ring of Revelation requires you actually have the mystery.
| Tom S 820 |
I thought I knew how this ring worked, but not anymore...
1) If the PC is an Oracle with the Nature mystery, and they have a Ring of Revelation with a non-Nature revelation (like Combat Healer), can they use the ring by making a Use Magic Device check?
Yes
2) If they can make a Use Magic Device check, how do you interpret the result?
Emulate a class feature DC 20 if equal to or great then it works
Action: None.(The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action if any) required to activate the magic item.
UMD dose not let emulate Class level... only Decipher a Written Spell, Emulate an Ability Score, Emulate an Alignment, Emulate a Class Feature,
Emulate a Race, Use a Scroll, and Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item. That is it.
My opinion
This is tricky one becasue the skill nore the item gives you levels to plug in to say. They did write the ring pretty strongly that it can not be use by non-oracles. But to emulate class ablity assumse that you have the minum class level to have said abilty....Also the Item has caster level of 11th to craft and need to be crafted by oracle with empiles to power. So there for as far as I would rule I would use it like this. I would use the best level of this list Items caster level 11th, minum level to have said revelation, or level in orcale class. I would let the player use the best one.
3) Again, assuming "yes" to #1, when would they need to make the UMD check?
When use or once per hour is if it permanent.
Is it dependent on the revelation?
Yes
Sparky Spain
|
UMD dose not let emulate Class level... only Decipher a Written Spell, Emulate an Ability Score, Emulate an Alignment, Emulate a Class Feature,
Emulate a Race, Use a Scroll, and Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item. That is it.
That clears up a lot, actually. Thanks everyone for the replies.
One more question I forgot:
If the PC uses a ring of revelation with Channel coded into it, are they allowed to take channel related feats, like Selective Channeling?
| Claxon |
Tom S 820 wrote:UMD dose not let emulate Class level... only Decipher a Written Spell, Emulate an Ability Score, Emulate an Alignment, Emulate a Class Feature,
Emulate a Race, Use a Scroll, and Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item. That is it.That clears up a lot, actually. Thanks everyone for the replies.
One more question I forgot:
If the PC uses a ring of revelation with Channel coded into it, are they allowed to take channel related feats, like Selective Channeling?
You could probably take Selective Channeling because the Channel revelation from the Life Mystery works like the channel energy class ability granted to clerics which is the prerequiste for the feat. Note that if you lost access to the ring you would lose access to the feat. Please also note that I still contend you must actually have the correct mystery (i.e. The Life mystery in order to obtain the the Channel revelaation from it).
To reiterate the point of why UMD doesn't work with the ring:
Emulate a Class Feature: Sometimes you need to use a class feature to activate a magic item. In this case, your effective level in the emulated class equals your Use Magic Device check result minus 20. This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature. If the class whose feature you are emulating has an alignment requirement, you must meet it, either honestly or by emulating an appropriate alignment with a separate Use Magic Device check (see above).
So you could use UMD to activate an item that requires a class ability, even if the item requirement is for instance Life Mystery class ability.
A ring of revelation is a divine item attuned to a particular oracular mystery and containing a revelation associated with that mystery (see the oracle class description). While wearing the ring, an oracle has access to that revelation and may use it as if she had it as a normal class feature. The oracle must have the appropriate mystery to use the ring, and must meet the level requirements (if any) of the revelation itself; for example, a ring of revelation (combat healer) is only usable by an oracle of at least 7th level with the battle mystery. If the oracle already has that revelation and the revelation gives an ability with a limited number of uses per day, the oracle can use that ability one additional time per day. The ring has no effect if worn by a non-oracle.
But the ring doesn't require anything special to activate it. If fact it doesn't require activation. It simply doesn't work on a non-oracle, nor will it work for an oracle that doesn't possess the mystery that the revelation from the ring is from.
I believe this is very intentional to prevent people from picking and choosing the best revealtion abilities from multiple Mysteries.
| Tom S 820 |
That clears up a lot, actually. Thanks everyone for the replies.
No Problem:) Again it is only "my opinion" I would not try to use this PFS game or some elses game where they are GM/DMing. If you want use for your game where you are GM/DMing then I am flattered. All of your question #2 was pretty much coppied past form the SRD. The rest is my point of view or how I would rule so take that and 50 cent and you may be able to get a can soda....
One more question I forgot:
If the PC uses a ring of revelation with Channel coded into it, are they allowed to take channel related feats, like Selective Channeling?
I agree with Claxon on this so yes. Because they have the abilty through the item. Althought if they lose the abilty somehow then they can not use it. ie Ring stolen, Supperesed via Dispell magic, anti-magic field etcetera.