Mouned Combat questions


Rules Questions


So, I've been planning an adventure for some low-level characters involving goblins mounted on goblin dogs. Neither my players nor myself have really played with mounted combat rules before, so I have some questions.

Most notably, while attacking in melee, is the mount allowed to attack as well as the rider? The Core Rulebook probably says something about it, but I can't find the exact ruling. Maybe I'm just overlooking it.

Scarab Sages

Generally, yes. There are, however two checks the goblins need to make. They need to make a DC 10 Ride check to fight with a combat trained mount (I'm going to assume the goblin dogs are combat trained, that's kind of a given), and a DC 10 Handle Animal check as a move action (unless these are goblin druids or rangers with Animal companions, in which case it's a free action) to order the mount's to attack.

Since they are NPC's, you could probably handwave the checks, but it may be increasing the difficulty of the encounter slightly.

Liberty's Edge

If new to mounted combat, the 3.5 Rules of the Game article make a good primer. There is a link in my profile.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mouned Combat questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions