Targeting Grappled Creatures with Grease


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

So in a campaign I am playing in, one of my party members got grappled by a tendriculos. The wizard decided that to help out the party member he would cast Grease on the rogue's armour so he would get a +10 to his escape check.

The DM ruled that because the rogue was not in control of the grapple, I could not target him with Grease because the tendriculos would just move him out of the way.

I explained that I had line of effect/sight to the rogue so I should be able to target him. He agreed but said that the tendriculos got to make the Reflex save even though the target is the armour of the rogue. I thought that line of reasoning was fallacious. What to you all think? How should this go down?


Grease is a targeted spell with no attack roll. The GM was incorrect in his ruling. The Rogue was the target, not the Tendriculous.

Would he also prevent the rogue from receiving healing?

The Tendriculous would never be required to make a reflex save anyhow. This simply buffs up the Rogues chances to avoid a grapple. It does not harm the Tendriculous.

- Gauss


It sounds like you need to find a new DM.


Concern-Citizen, those kinds of comments are usually not helpful.

Sometimes a GM makes an on the spot determination that may or may not be correct. Sometimes they are right, sometimes wrong. Keeping the game moving is usually more important.

The main issue is what happens moving forward. Is the GM open to an after action discussion of the problem (including rules quotes)?

- Gauss

Grand Lodge

Gauss,

I believe the GM would be open to a discussion of the rules. However, I think I would have to provide examples etc. First I wanted to make sure I was right before I pressed the issue further though. But any light you could shed that would help would be appreciated.

Lantern Lodge

There is nothing in the rules supporting the DM's interpretation.


Squizgar,

You get a save in three circumstances:
1) To avoid falling in a greased area (if you failed the Acrobatics check).
2) To avoid the effect if grease is cast upon an item you are carrying.
3) To pick up a greased item.

Nowhere in the grapple rules is there a rule that allows you to consider the person, and all that they carry, to be part of your possessions.

Thus, the only person who gets to decide to save or not is the Rogue.

Now, Grease does not automatically mean that the grappler drops the grapplee. The grapplee is not an object and thus the Grappler does not get a reflex save to avoid dropping it.

The effect of grease in a grapple is very specific: +10 circumstance bonus to avoid or escape grapples.

Perhaps your GM thought that he gets a reflex save to avoid the effect as if he were dropping a held sword. If so, explain that this is not the case since a creature is not an item. Explain that there is only the +10 bonus.

Frankly, Im rather surprised by this. Grease is an extremely common means to reduce the extreme risk of grapples. Someone should be packing a wand of Grease. Combined with Liberating Command grapple should not be the player killer people think it is.

- Gauss

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Targeting Grappled Creatures with Grease All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions