Combining / crafting items with similar effects


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Using magic item creation rules, could I combine a pair of Bracers of the Avenging Knight and a Silver Smite Bracelet to get a +8 level to smite on a Paladin?
Or does that only work on the general +X item enchants and such?

Would those bonuses count as coming from the same source and, therefore, not stack?

If I changes the slot used for one or the other and employed both, would the effects stack?


Im pretty sure it wouldn't stack.


This is house rule territory, as are all magic item creation rules.

Both are untyped, so they should stack. That being said, if I were your GM, I would try to figure out the formula they are using for increasing effective paladin level for smite and price the new item accordingly. It would assuredly be more expensive then combining these two items.


Almost all formulas follow a square progression, so doubling a bonus will usually cost about 4x as much (2 squared).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Combining / crafting items with similar effects All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions