Peacebond work for arrows in a quiver?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

The wording of the spell claims it keeps a weapon sheathed or slung to your body. I am just wondering if I can peacebond someone's arrows or bolts into their quiver.


For reference.

A strict reading says the target is "one sheathed or slung weapon".

Arrows are ammunition, not weapons (but can be affected by many of the same things, such as weapon enhancements). They're listed separately from weapons (not classified as simple, martial, or exotic, with their own table to buy from). The rules for magical weapons treat ammunition as separate-but-equivalent for most purposes (see the section "Ranged weapons and ammunition" under Weapon Special Abilities in Ultimate Equipment).

Therefore, the strictest interpretation is that it wouldn't work.

The next-strictest reading is that the target is singular. Therefore, if you allow that arrows "may as well be weapons", then the spell would only affect a single arrow per casting.

For my table, I'd allow the spell to work on a full quiver. However, the RAW says "no", for the reasons presented above.


The Witch has a Hex called Peacebond which works similarly. It specifically states that it prevents archers from drawing arrows.

However the Hex works on the weapon user while the spell targets the weapon itself it seems, so I'm not too sure how much you can infer from that in one way or another.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Peacebond work for arrows in a quiver? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions