Axe-Beak Animal Companion Reach


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I know there have been various posts on the reach of Animal Companions that grow to a Large size during development. I have heard varying thoughts on the matter. One being not to give them Reach at all since it is not stated in the AC stat block. Others say to use the Bestiary to determine if the AC has Reach at that size. If anyone knows whether an official FAQ has been devoted to this please let me know. However, I noticed while running a recent PFS scenario that an Axe-Beak AC was used. The Axe-Beak AC stats in Bestiary 3 say nothing of Reach, yet the Stat block for the companion in the scenario gave it reach. Was this a mistake in the scenario? Or is this evidence that we DMs should be using the Bestiaries to determine the reach of out players ACs? If this is so, the medium sized level 1 Elasmosaurus companion should have reach 10'.

Thoughts?


The Axe Beak from Bestiary 3 has a 10 foot space and a 10 foot reach, and is large. The only sane answer I can come up with is that animal companions that start medium gain the reach of their mundane brethren when they too become large.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Axe-Beak Animal Companion Reach All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.