Spell Combat + Fighting Defensively?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

Can a magus use actions available when attacking as either a standard or full-attack action while using spell combat?

The full round action Spell Combat did not exist when the CRB was written. As such it leaves a hole in the rules.

PRD wrote:
Fighting Defensively as a Standard Action: You can choose to fight defensively when attacking. If you do so, you take a –4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 dodge bonus to AC until the start of your next turn
PRD wrote:
Fighting Defensively as a Full-Round Action: You can choose to fight defensively when taking a full-attack action. If you do so, you take a –4 penalty on all attacks in a round to gain a +2 dodge bonus to AC for until the start your next turn.

Fighting defensively is called out as part of a full-round action, but then is specified as requiring a full-attack action within the body of the text

Similar wording can be found with Combat Expertise

Combat Expertise wrote:
Benefit: You can choose to take a –1 penalty on melee attack rolls and combat maneuver checks to gain a +1 dodge bonus to your Armor Class. When your base attack bonus reaches +4, and every +4 thereafter, the penalty increases by –1 and the dodge bonus increases by +1. You can only choose to use this feat when you declare that you are making an attack or a full-attack action with a melee weapon. The effects of this feat last until your next turn.

Strict RAW, I am inclined to argue no. The magus is denied a wide range of standard combat options while using spell combat. I do not believe this is RAI, as the text for those rules predates Spell Combat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Combat + Fighting Defensively? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.